Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Splodey Boats

by Sodaware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy the enemy submarines using your depth charges. You may only drop one charge at a time, so timing is everything. Use "space" to drop a charge, and then space again to detonate it. At night, you'll have to use your sonar to find enemies. It's slow to start, but it gets more interesting from stage 3-1 onwards!

Controls
- SPACE to drop a depth charge
- SPACE to detonate a dropped charge
- S to emit a sonar pulse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#112Theme3.84
#113Fun3.68
#153Graphics3.89
#167Overall3.66
#215Mood3.47
#297Audio3.17
#320Humor2.83
#583Innovation3.03

Comments

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

I dig the artstyle

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

This has a great look to it, with some cute touches such as the fish and the bubbles that rise from the submarines. Nicely done.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

That old Pop Station game done right, I see. I've got the high score!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nice graphics! The gameplay itself seemed to me to be a little too easy though. I didn't really end up needing to move the boat much and could just drop charges and blow up subs whenever because there were so many to hit.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Great artwork. I think the gameplay is pretty slow, but is not a problem. Good job.

And...... I liked because we create similar games =D
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=15241

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

It is amazingly balanced, gotta love it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I like it, the art is right the sounds are right and it feels nice owning those little subs. Best points goto Theme and Mood!

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

great art style for the game. I wish the game play was a bit quicker, but that just might be my personal preference.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice and simple, this reminds me of a little game I used to play on a palm pilot thing. Except better. Kind of slow, but not too slow. I got 4855.

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

very simple but also very fun! satisfying to destroy multiple subs with the same blast :-)

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Yeah, a little slow gameplay, but well designed overall. Well done.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I love entries like this one, it feels very complete and is a pretty good game in itself. You could (and should) post it on a game portal :)

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

This is a very solid game. Well put together, with a perfect difficulty curve. Excellent work with this.

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Nice! I was worried it was going to be a flappy clone, but it satisfies. Challenge curve is a little slow, but I liked being able to play a slower paced game that still gets challenging.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

I have the current highscore, 12,660! That was really fun. Shouldn't it be called "Splodey Subs" though? ;) If I have any critical feedback, it would be that you don't introduce all those extra fun mechanics until too late in the game. I was about ready to quit thinking that I'd seen all the game had to show at mission 2-1. I was like, "Oh I see, it's just going to keep reducing my times by 10 seconds every 4 rounds. I'm glad I stuck around though because then you introduced the powerups, the sub torpedoes, the water mines, the sonar mode, etc. I bet a lot of players won't stick around that long at the current pace. Other than that, nice polished game!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

Thanks for all the great feedback everyone, I really appreciate it!

Getting the progression right was something that bugged me during development. I originally had the sunset stage (with the mines) as mission 2, but I was worried it would be too difficult too quickly. I definitely screwed up there. But that's what I love about LD - you get to see your game from so many different angles.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Reminds me of an old arcade game from the 80's. Good progression of new elements to the levels.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice. Felt so bad when I killed the fish. Gratz!

mrbungle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Simple game, really well executed.

copain says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

good but so long to begin fun...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:38am

this game was a lot of fun - felt like i was playing an old skool atari game - nice job

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Fun game! I like the little details like the bubbles.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]