Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Beneath The Surface

by davidllanos22 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the cave and go as deep as you can!

-Controls-

Move with arrow keys/wasd
Aim with mouse and attack with left click

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#249Theme3.62
#330Fun3.30
#384Graphics3.42
#398Overall3.33
#431Mood3.13
#828Audio2.21
#862Innovation2.65
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really enjoyed your game, esp the room layouts and items/abilities, and descending down each floor. Very playable and fun, and great isometric style.

It did freeze (in different places) a couple of times, not sure why (Mac/Chrome).

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Really liked the roguelike RPG elements although the game did freeze on me a few times. Still great job!

larouxn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Overall, fantastic job! The art was great. Of course, it wasn't always the smoothest and sometimes I got stuck on the bottom walls but regardless. Great work!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

It did also freeze for me. Too bad the enemies respawn when a level is revisited. Overall it was a nice game.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Are the enemies supposed to move or shoot at you? they did nothing for me.

Anyway I like the art style and the old RPG feel to it

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice dungeon diving game. It hangs up quite often though...

sam101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice job, too bad it's unplayable with a touchpad however.

May 4, 2014 @ 1:59pm

A really solid dungeon crawler implementation. Art was crisp and clear, and the enemies+traps kept me on my toes for the first few floors. Unfortunately I couldn't get past floor 6 or 7 due to the game freezing! (Win/Chrome)

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Hi. Not rated yet, Not sure what's going on. IE/Windows 8 combination. Get initial level with grid and stairs down only features. Go down stairs. Die before next level is displayed.

soy_yuma says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Nice game! I find it buggy sometimes when going down the stairs. I can get stuck between up and down stairs. It's a good idea and quite interesting though! Good job!

noom says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:21am

Looks like your webserver is down.

kristof says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:27am

Lovely little dungeon crawler. I like the pixel art. The collisions sometimes felt a bit off. And for some reason I am always confused, when the movement of the character is diagonal to the grid of the map. But this could just be me ;)
Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]