Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Metal Beneath Skin

by CMaster - Jam Entry

** Game start bug fixed **

A "hunt them down" game.

On the surface, all these street citizens look the same.

beneath the surface however, one of them hides a deadly secret - they are a killer robot! Find them and bring them to justice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Humor(Jam)3.14
#494Innovation(Jam)2.72
#522Theme(Jam)2.84
#587Audio(Jam)2.32
#661Graphics(Jam)2.52
#679Fun(Jam)2.24
#688Mood(Jam)2.25
#690Overall(Jam)2.50
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Clicking "Start Game" on the web version, but nothing happens.

"Instructions" and "Visit our website" buttons work, however.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Problem with the game mate when I click play it doesn't load. :/

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Bug fixed now. Sorry all!

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Couldn't stop laughing at the sounds the citizens made when poked.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Took me a while to figure out which person was the player and then I couldn't really figure out what to do.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

The controls were a little stiff, but nice idea.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:17am

The game is pretty fun, but also pretty hard. :v Great game. :)

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I think the concept is great but the playability is not what it could have been. It's hard to find out where you are, the controls are unprecise, and there are too many items to switch between. I would take out the cutting knife and megaphone.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:38pm

nice concept! cool sprite animation also :-)

JokerDen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:52am

Droll! I like the concept and sounds. At first it is difficult to play, but than it's ok.
Pok!

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great concept, and I love the use of different items! I did think it was a little hard to move around and use some of the items, and as such I wasn't able to actually catch the robot. If you miss with the gun, it's especially hard. But still, any game where you have to figure out who's an android by poking them with your finger and seeing if they clank isn't a bad one.

noom says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:19am

Took me a while before I could spot my avatar, neat concept, I really didn't enjoy the sound effects, a lot of the poke audio sounded like you recorded them in a hurricane (breathing directly into the mic) and the megaphone sound basically deafened me.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Excellent concept. I liked the sound effects when you poke the people. The android is quite hard to catch though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]