Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

<GAME NAME>

by zacaj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A dual stick shooter on a sphere, with controller support!!

(I know how to make good use of my dev time, definitely)

Tested with X360 controllers only, tell me if yours has a problem and I'll look into it.

no name, no sound, no music :(

Written in Typescript, using Three.js, https://github.com/kallaspriit/HTML5-JavaScript-Gamepad-Controller-Library, and Gamejolt highscore saving.

There's a bug with explosions inside, caused by three.js, no idea how to fix it. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Innovation3.60
#224Fun3.46
#258Overall3.50
#511Graphics3.23
#822Mood2.69
#835Theme2.92
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27am

Ridiculously difficult. Brilliant :D

zacaj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

that's good. I've been sitting around for the last hour worrying if it's too easy :D

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Oh god that's difficult. Really nice:D, Great job:)

sputnikgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Love it!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Fast and frantic, I love it! I couldn't really get used to the movement controls: in this kind of game I expect pressing left and right to move that direction instead of turning. Everything else is great!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Neat little title. I like the orbital movement :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice concept! I didn't understand at first but seems like a neat idea

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Very unique visuals and gameplay. Not too easy. ;) Props for three.js <3

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Nice job! I love the idea of going inside the sphere! It's a shame it's missing sound effects and music, etc. Nice going!

paps says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44am

Nice game, with music and sfx it will have been terrific (maybe on a post compo release). But it will be nice if we could zoom out a little.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00am

Very original and challenging.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Hi. Not scored yet - nothing happens after click Start game, tried a couple of restarts - screen just goes white then after about 5 seconds told I died. Running IE11/W8

zacaj says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:42am

@mrexcessive I don't know about IE11 but in IE10 it runs, but with major graphical problems. It was only tested on Chrome and Firefox. I'll try to install IE11, but I'd recommend you try one of the other browsers if possible.

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Fun that you got controller working... but only played in browser without a controller :) Neat concept.

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:11am

Interesting game concept! It's fun to play and with some more work this could be a great game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]