Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lebesgue

by myachin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zen-Adventure of Surface

Used:
FlashDevelop, HaXe, OpenFL,
ModPlugTracer, Audacity, Gimp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#33Innovation4.13
#57Graphics4.26
#74Mood3.84
#90Audio3.67
#203Overall3.58
#376Theme3.46
#699Humor2.24
#736Fun2.82

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

A game like this could do with a bit more instructions ;) but it's a very zen like experience! so that aspect worked :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

This was... absurd. I loved it throughout, even though I had no idea what to do. :)

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

I don't know exactly why or what I was doing, but had fun doing it. Excels at mood and style. I would like a more defined goal.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

This is a strange game. That was pretty fun but I have absolutely no idea what is the goal.
I collected some items until I run out of energy. Is there more than that?

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

I managed to get 13 of 19 symbols.
Then I ran out of energy.
Would be more useful if I could see more.
Weird but nice game overall :D Took me time trying to find them.

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

Exceptional visual style. I really liked the shiny wavy surface. Although i couldn't decide upon what the gameplay was actually about .. :)

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice music, nice graphics, and I like how you used the mathematical definition of a surface (to be honest I also thought of it - though I have no way of implementing it.)
The gameplay feels repetitive and complex though, but everything else feels as if this game is really a work of art.

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really awesome aesthetic, goal is unclear but obvious once you figure it out. Nice!

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The surface is hard to control, but original idea and cool ambiance. Good job.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I have no idea what I'm doing, but it looks neat and is quite satisfying :)

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

best game

ololomax says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

I wish I had known what is going on here, I can enjoy this game though!

Nelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

Шикарнейше)Играл два дня)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Strange but addictive. Nice.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:25am

It looks and sounds just amazing, but I have no idea what to do :-(

miwuc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:12pm

The surface looks amazing, you can really see it fly as you move.
Like a lot of people, I was very confused by the gameplay at the beginning. It's funny that the game as a tutorial for using the *arrow keys*, but nothing on what the hell is going on in this game. I also found the controls to be very confusing since they don't follow the isometric world. The trick of course is to hold two arrows at the same time. I found some symbols but I can't say I finished the game. Overall the game is impressive, the concept is interesting and the mood is great, but I didn't have enough fun playing it to try and find all the symbols. I'm very curious to know what happens when you do though.

May 2, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Wonderful experience! The graphics are stunning

May 3, 2014 @ 2:26am

wow. That was very cool. running around looking for glowing places was kind of annoying. but, oh well. looks so neat!

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:42pm

The graphics and audio fit the mood very well, and the gameplay is quite zen indeed. Despite nailing the abstract zen-like gameplay, I think the game could benefit from a bit more exposition.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Really relaxing. Quit lacking as a game but superb as a Zen interactive experience.

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:02pm

That player looks amazing! Wow!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:22am

I was hoping someone would interpret "beneath the surface" topologically! Fantastic experience.

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Interesting take on the theme. I've always wanted to be an oscillating surface. Movement could be improved. I kept draining tiles that I didn't want to. Was a little frustrating though (movement combined with difficulty to find symbols).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]