Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UNDERQUEST

by Tweak - Jam Entry

-- UNDERQUEST --
by Kitheif and CodeAssasin

We had a lot of fun learning how to use Craftstudio and LUA for this game, our inexperience and time frame cut out features that will be missed! (Sounds, Bombs, Particles, Working spikes) But we did have fun making it!

Controls:
WASD - movement

If you're using windows you probably already have the XNA Framework.
(If not the game won't run, here is the download link!)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Postmortems to come at our thingys.
http://kitheif.tumblr.com/
@_codeassassin

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rw5t2grph6on00f/Dungeon1.ogg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/96vrorrwnbm1i3b/Intro.ogg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Graphics(Jam)4.43
#118Fun(Jam)3.49
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#370Innovation(Jam)3.02
#536Humor(Jam)2.15
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

Been attempting to play the game but nothing happens when I try to run the executable. (It fails silently, even when I use the command line to run it.)

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great looking game! Love the style and concept. Could be fleshed out a bit stronger and I'd be looking forward to playing a post jam game that takes the game a bit further. One thing I didn't realize at first was there's a timer, and I hit a door right when the timer went off and thought the door had killed me.

Kitheif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

Uprightpath, you say executable so I'm assuming you're using Windows.. (The only thing we've tested the game on)
What version of Windows are you using?

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Really cute style and fun, fast-paced gameplay! I really enjoyed it!

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

This was great! A nice twist on dungeon a dungeon crawler. The controls were deceptively simple at first. When combined with the power ups it made the simple controls work well! I'd be interested to see how the other power ups will work. The only real complaint I had was I didn't notice the timer as BoneDaddy said. It was hard to notice on the bottom of the screen. Great job! I'd like to see it continued!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

Quite fun, but why do I keep losing my sword?

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55am

So beautiful! But so quiet! Get some beeps at least!

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

can not run it. Windows 7.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18am

gorgeous art :]

Kitheif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24am

@BoneDaddy @DanDias
Haha Bone that's funny man.
I agree with the timer, I definitely would have preferred to make some clock GUI sprites or at least a fun count down timer but Code quickly added it in the last hour :|

@elefantopia
I didn't about explaining the backstory of the items magically breaking until after the jam haha!

@petey123567
I suggest playing a chiptune mix or sexy jazz.

@xerohuang
Make sure you have the XNA Framework provided in the description.

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28am

Great job. Very well thought and balanced gameplay. It was fun playing it. (BTW It runs prefectly on my Windows 8.1)

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Pretty good game design. I like how the controls are simple/constant but the gameplay can still be complex/changes. Definitely needs some audio/sfx.

The last level is a little frustrating until I figured out you can just go straight to the end. (Are you supposed to be able to get the key by luring out the fast guy somehow?)

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

Please continue on this game. Really good stuff. Has amazing potential.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

Damn this game crashes for me on startup :(
The screenshots are great, I love the style. Also that double layer technique for the player sprite so you have front and back is a great idea !

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Nice game, great art style. The controls feel pretty tight and the levels are just the right difficulty. I really wish it was longer. The respawn rate of the character is too fast though, by the time I realize I'm back I've already moved 2 blocks away. Also it's a shame you never got music into the game, it really needed it. (I know you posted some tracks but I opted to play it as was presented)

I'd like to see this continued honestly.

~AlucardX60

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

Well, that is a racing-puzzle game where you have to find the best circuit by considering the level, the monsters and the power-ups.

It's incredibly fun. I fell intelligent when I finished the last levels. Everything seems to work properly. The view was a little blocked in the last level.

Maybe each type of enemy should have a defined speed so you can predict them more before having to die. The game is too enjoyable to be so short. Please make a longer version. :)

And the Shield is overpowered, you can just brainlessly run after getting it. Maybe some enemies should be able to push the player to counterbalance its effect. But what you already made is amazing.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

Wow, your game is so cool !
Did you do other games ?
I really love your art !

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48am

the game is not starting (win7)

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Really enjoyable game with great art and effective gameplay !
As you say in your description, the missing features ... well do actually miss ^^

Good job !

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

Amazing.
The art is incredibly lovely, and the concept is quite fun. Though I'm not sure, what's the point of the sword if the enemies can't harm you when you have a shield?

Wish there was a proper ending too :(

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Pretty fun game and nice puzzle, I feel bad that you didn't get to put in everything you wanted, but what you do have is polished.

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Cool game, I like the visuals. Some places were a little hard to see what was going on behind walls, the camera could probably be a little higher to solve that maybe.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Really terrific visuals! I wish it had audio!

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35pm

OS X version needs Mono, which is big download. That's a bummer, don't want to download and install a 500M program right now. But it looks really great!

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I love the graphics. Interesting level mechanics too.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Wow! Very neat! It got real hard very quick but I liked it a lot. This could definitely be the beginning of something bigger. I'd play that with a controller!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Love the graphics!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I think the graphics are just gorgeous, totally dig this style.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Pretty fun game, main issues are explaining what the powerups do and how long they last. Would be nice if the enemies were a bit more different from each other as well.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I love the 2D sprites in the 3D environment, brilliant concept. Gameplay was also really fun. Great job!

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:40am

The style of the graphics looks really cool, gj guys.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Great visuals, the flat look works nicely and like that you're on a timer.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Super simple super fun :)

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Really liked the art style. Nicely done. :)

greg-anims says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:00pm

wow this 2D/3D style is so cool and simple, i want to make a game like this!

the gameplay is fun but gets repetitive quickly, i think this is largely because the level design is quite similar. i like to hold interest with few resources by just giving each level a simple theme or idea:
- running along a corridor of spikes
- one big room full of blobs and keys
- a maze of skeletons
- a house
- a castle full of pillars

..designing the core mechanics around giving me a lot of variation in level design..gives some distinct visual/game-play variety and makes the player think "what will the next level be!?"

lovely pixel art!

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I loved the psuedo-3d graphics. It would have been nice with at least a few SFX and maybe some music. The gameplay was frustrating as there was no way to attack chasing enemies until you found a sword in which case you just run into enemies.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:41am

Looks promising. But unfair hardcore since level with sword behind the gates. Red fast dueds are impossible to pass =(

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Although the game explains none of the rules, it was easy enough to learn the ropes (Though I spent the first room intentionally dodging the monster for 20 seconds, heh)

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I was going through the rooms so quickly that only at the third I realized there was a time limit. Great mix of puzzle and action, congrats!

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Really nice game!
One of the best I played so far

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:26am

really nice visual style and pacing to this game. and hard!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]