Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It Came from Beneath the Surface: Wormgun

by BoneDaddy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A worm game...

#######NOTE!!! If you have a controller, please play the game with that. I've noticed the game controls terribly with the keyboard. I may try to fix this as a bug update, but in the meantime PLEASE USE A CONTROLLER!


IT CAME FROM
BENEATH THE SURFACE!

WORMGUN

by Jeffrey Fillingham for Ludum Dare 29 Competition, April 25th to 27th 2014


CONTROLS: WASD on keyboard, or left analog stick on Xbox 360 Controller.

Click -= START =- with the mouse to begin game, or press Start on the 360 controller.


SUMMARY:

Worm your way through 8 delicious worm-tasting levels! Collect various blocks to boost yourself and your score! Have fun too!

BLOCK TYPES:

BROWN - Regular old dirt, worth 1 point
PURPLE - Down boost. Eat this and you will be pushed down, fast! Worth 5 points.
GREEN - Jump boost. Chomp on this to get a sky high boost! Worth 5 points.
BLUE - Forward Boost. Devour this to propel yourself forwards!! Worth 10 points.
RED - PAIN! Don't touch this! Don't you put it in your mouth!!! -1 health :( :( :( :(
GOLD - Yellow coloured gold! The best kind! Worth 100 points! Eat it, eat it all!
METAL - You can't eat metal you fool!
GOAL - Get to the goal to beat the level!


If you fall off the level, you will die. If you lose all your health, you will die.
You will die, and when you die, you will lose half your score. Not bad!

Enjoy!


Oh, I didn't test OS/X or linux...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#26Fun4.02
#112Theme3.84
#168Innovation3.68
#176Overall3.63
#343Humor2.78
#514Mood3.03
#637Audio2.61
#814Graphics2.77

Comments

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Wow, I loved this. Even though the graphics were == null, I the worm was so cool I had to give graphics 3 stars, and it fits the theme very nicely unlike most games i have seen so far!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice style, the controls are a little bit buggy, but the concept is really good, and I love controlling that worm!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

This worm is so extremely fast, never knew they race like that :). The 4th level (I think it was the 4th, the first one without walls) is so damn hard, died so often and never even saw the goal. Cool game nonetheless.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Thanks for the feedback! I've noticed the game controls terribly with the keyboard (dunno how i missed that) so if you have a controller available PLEASE PLAY WITH THE CONTROLLER! Sorry about that...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

I really just want to eat every single bit.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Very interesting concept, controls were a little hard to get used to but overall fun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

One of the most addictive games ive ever played.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35am

Really great gameplay!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

I really like the minimalism and sound effects. I think it's a great game, very challenging.

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

This was really cool. I didn't really mind playing on a keyboard - I love making the worm stand up like a charmed snake. Good work with Worm Game

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

It was pretty satisfying to chew through this stuff in big loops. Very nice! The worm's "breathing" effect was a nice touch.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

Played it with a controller, and loved it. I love how the more you get around in a level, the less dirt you have to work with, making it harder to get around. Awesome!

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Fun game with nice diversity in the levels! Core controls feel good. It's hard enough to be frustrating, but while still making me want to keep playing.

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Woah, great controls and physics. I think pulling the camera back would benefit as it's hard to get a sense of the area and see where i need to go.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

This is pretty nice game! Could use nicer graphics, but the gameplay was quite entertaining! =)

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

A lot of fun to play, in all it's simplicity. Nice level design, nice physics, although a steep difficulty curve. Needless to say, I died a lot.

HatCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice game! I was kinda lost in the 4th or 5th level, but overall it was pretty funny.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Cool concept, and the game really played well. Nice sounds too, good job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Interesting game, the player movement was a bit strange, but I enjoyed playing it anyway! it was very satisfying and addictive to eat the dirt, but very challenging. The sound effects were nice too. Good job! :)

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

im determined to beat your game. i will not sleep until it happens

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

It is beatable. I have done it many times

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very nice! Like the pinball bumper type mechanics. The sounds remind me of an old TRS-80 game where a clown popped balloons while jumping on a trampoline.

petey123567 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06am

On the one hand, it feels just a little too out of control, on the other hand the input chaos is a bit charming. Very original!

Tweak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

This is a really neat game you have hear. The minimalistic style of the game as well of it's sound effects gave me a very nostalgic feeling. Well done! :-)

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Love the aesthetics, and the gameplay is really fun!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:07am

Lovely idea! Digging is fun :)

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This strangely reminded me of ecco the dolphin. The controls really felt like how I remember it was jumping out of the water. This is a good thing. This game plays very smoothly, and it's very challenging for how simple the core mechanic is. Well done!

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Fun game. My XBox360 controller wasn't detected but I found the keyboard controls quite good.
Simple graphics, but ok and consistant for a jam.
Maybe the power ups could be a bit bigger.

MrLeePerry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Fun stuff, really enjoyed the general feel of the game. Never QUITE understood the mechanics enough to control it precisely, but that didn't really wreck it... I still had a good time with it. Nice stuff!

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:50pm

For a worm, you sure spend a lot of time above bottomless pits! Made it as far as 'Let's Fight' but couldn't get much further (even with a controller). Something to indicate where the goal is relative to your character would be helpful.

javifugitivo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Really funny!

koe415 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:21am

So I used a keyboard as a controller and it seemed pretty difficult to control the worm for precise turns or movement. This made some of the puzzles a bit more difficult than they could've been. Having said that, the actual movement of the worm through the ground and gaining speed feels fantastic. Flying from the ground through the air is also great. Very simple yet satisfying movement. Good job overall.

noom says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:14am

I played way too much of this, amazing concept, loads of fun, very innovative. Some minor bugs in the physics but aside from that I thought this was perfect. Wonderful entry!

May 18, 2014 @ 7:29am

Fun game with really nice movement when controlling the worm.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]