Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UprightPath - Temple Depths - uprightpath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Removed web version due to issues!

Temple Depths is a platformer where the player is attempting to find the gold dragon idol then get out!

When you start you're confronted with a menu with two buttons: Play and Restart. This is essentially the pause menu. Clicking 'Play' resumes the game. Clicking 'Restart' restarts the game.

When you finish the current levels it restarts at the first.

Controls:
Z: Jumps (Down + Jump drops off ladders/ropes)
X: Drops a Rope
C: Drops a bomb (No levels feature them!)
Left: Moves left
Right: Moves right
Up: Climbs Ropes/Ladders
Down: Descends Ropes/Ladders
Esc: Pause Menu

View uprightpath's journal. | View all entries by uprightpath

Ratings

#702Overall3.04
#777Graphics2.82
#780Fun2.76
#925Innovation2.57
#991Theme2.63
#1041Mood2.40
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice idea for a puzzle platformer. Very short, but I can imagine it be fun with some more levels and making use of the ropes and bombs for the puzzles.
The controls are a bit akward for me, because I have Z and Y switched on my layout.

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Pretty short, but the rope feature is nice.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Doesn't run.

titoboss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Dosen't run too with windows 8.

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Cool idea with the rope, it makes possibilities for a great range of puzzles. Overall it was well done, but I missed audio.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Welcome to he Temple Depths.

Don't make me click play with mouse when I'm using keyboard :)

Nice rope. Finished. Nice hat.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

The aesthetic pleasantly reminds me of Chip's Challenge.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

It'd probably help if I knew what Chip's challenge is! xD

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20am

Nice puzzle game ! Challenging !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45am

Great concept, really well put but damn that message at the beginning of each level is killing the fun! Put it only on the first (or first 2 levels), then the player understands that the goal of each level is always the same. And if your game is keyboard controlled, having to switch to mouse only to kill that window is really tedious... Aside from that, great little game!

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

same bad points as Oddly Shaped Pixels, nethertheless, good little game ! need more levels (or an editor)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]