Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ostrich Simulator 9001

by kivifreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What's this ?!?
--------------------------------
Put your head in the ground and defeat the evil things down in the ground.
BECAUSE YOU ARE AN OSTRICH!!!
Level up in the shop, which you need to complete the game and behave like an ostrich.

Controls
--------------------------------
W A S D (or keys) to move
Spacebar for action and samurai sword
Mouse for gun and entering shop



Tools used
--------------------------------
Languages: Java, Processing, ProcessingJS, buzz.js
Some generic sound algorithm & Garage Band
Paintbrush and GIMP (to pixelize pictures from outside and made) --> you'll see the quality defers.
Online Converters


I will be very impressed when you defeat the game and the TWO bosses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#19Humor4.03
#32Theme4.07
#72Fun3.81
#143Audio3.52
#147Overall3.68
#216Innovation3.57
#324Mood3.26
#700Graphics2.94

Comments

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

LOL oh man, this is edgy as hell. Made my day! :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

Simply amazing. It's not a complex game but just simple and very theme related with great humor xD 5/5!

DFectuoso says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Amazing game, fun and addictive

Bronaldplo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

Nice game, Good transalation of the Theme :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48am

Lol, love it. Really like the mirrored relative controls on the head.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Haha! Awesome! It's fun and good approach on the theme

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Lots of fun ;)

danialhyatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Loved this! Hilarious and it made me dizzy. quite addictive too!

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Hilarious idea. For some reason the audio didn't work on chrome (latest version) so I have rated n/a for audio.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Funny and fun :D

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47am

Hahaha this was really funny. Might be my favorite game so far. Nice work using Processing!

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Truly the greatest LD game ever. You definitely had me playing for over an hour. Full marks all around.

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

It's not particularly difficult or original, but it's pretty funny and it has some cool music. I played for about half an hour when I should have been doing work, so you're definitely on par with Dice Wars here.

The two complaints I have with this game are 1) the "YOU DIED!" text never goes away, which gets pretty obnoxious pretty fast, and 2) it takes waaaaay too long to grind for the items. If you had the coins correspond to real world US currency (pennies/nickels/dimes/quarters/half-dollars/dollar coins) it would make the most sense, in my opinion.

Oh, and also-- Shoop da Whoop? 9001? It's not 2007 anymore, dude!

kivifreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:34am

Fixed the thing with the gametext and yeah you are probably right :P

kivifreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

And since the coin growth is exponentional you only need to achieve some deeper depths to win.

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12pm

One of the best, if not THE best ostrich simulator I've ever seen.

Hippolyta says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Funny and smooth!
Had a lot of fun playing your game - nice job! :-)

smbe19 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:41am

Great game. No pun intended.
Love the music.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:16am

This is incredibly addictive, hilariously funny and the music track is awesome!

Well done!

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:03pm

One question: When you buy the second item (800$) your money falls down to -4000 O_o

Is this bug or feature?

kivifreak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:40pm

let's say i tweaked the feature in favor of the player now ;)

May 2, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I laughed. Good work!

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This cracked me up. Awesome idea!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]