Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SWAN QWOP

by AtkinsSJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Swans look elegant above the water, but beneath the surface they're flapping all over the place!

SWAN QWOP is, as the name suggests, QWOP ( http://www.foddy.net/Athletics.html ) but with a swan. Specifically, a swan with one leg.

If you manage to complete it (it is possible - I've managed it myself) then post your time below! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#32Humor3.93
#330Fun3.30
#748Audio2.39
#888Mood2.62
#999Overall2.71
#1023Theme2.55
#1046Innovation2.38
#1143Graphics2.17

Comments

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Help, I've fallen and I can't get up!
http://imgur.com/eRjuuXI

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Surprisingly fun. I made it as far as knocking the frog into the duck...

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

hardcore game, I'm not sure if I could get even to the middle of the lake

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

The concept is amusing, but I couldn't get anywhere. I guess thats what I signed up for with a QWOP-style game so I can't complain too much though!

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17am

this was a funny game, neat concept!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Does this game even exist? how is this sooo hard.. Is it possible. Yet this is the most enjoyable piece of swan-inspired entertainment since Black Swan. 10/10 would swan again.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Fun concept, but the controls seem to get stuck. Almost got to the frog though ;)

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept, but it's really hard to master the controls.

Phyyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23pm

The movement was too slow, and the concept existed already...

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

So easy to end up beak down, ass up, laughing in self shame. I made it to the frog exactly once, 5-star audio imo. Good fun!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33pm

AHHH GODDAMMIT YOU STUPID DUCK, STOP LAUGHING AT ME, I WAS DOING sooooooooooo GOOD.

Great game, very much in the spirit of Qwop, and even more in the spirit of Clop. Also: great interpretation of theme!

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Hah, kinda off-theme, but I think this one is hilarious!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Ohhhhh man, I thought I had a good thing going and then I ended up making exactly the same pose as in the photo ._.

For what it is, this a really nice execution. The frog added a nice touch.

Hamsternator says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

The only complaint I have about this is that you didn't come up with some kind of swan pun when naming this project =)

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:45am

I suck at QWOP games but this is a brilliant QWOP game. Great work! :)

NoorStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

It's really tough to be a one legged swan! I usually ended up with derek stuck on his back in the middle of the lake :S cool and different idea though.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I'm really glad people are enjoying it. I know it's not a clever or sophisticated game. And you're completely right Hamsternator - what was I thinking?! :D

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I got past the frog. I was proud of myself.

RIBBIT.

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Great interpretation of the theme, I almost managed a somersault!

Waterman7 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Oh no, I got stuck in an infinite loop of ribbit! :D
Nice little fun game, although I didn't see the challenge in staying above the surface as much as not getting stuck in an awkward position...

May 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Super hard, yet amazing game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

Lucariatias says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Doesn't include the LWJGL natives for OS X, it seems.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]