Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tile Flip

by xevozfighter - Jam Entry

This is my first time placing an entry in this competition, so constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#624Overall(Jam)2.73
#639Fun(Jam)2.37
#651Innovation(Jam)2.37
#723Mood(Jam)1.95
#724Graphics(Jam)2.17

Comments

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Interesting, but I did not try to complete the level (the puzzle is really hard ^^).

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18am

Very solid and simple. Having certain tiles randomly flipped at the start is a nice touch to make the puzzle more challenging.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

not a fan of puzzle games but it had me interested, its hard

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Eh gads, I hate these kinds of puzzles, I can never get them right!! Nice job though, a bit of polish would really go a long way. Solid overall.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

If you quickly click two tiles next to each other some tiles will get stuck in the turning animation.

Also the turning animation could be a little bit faster and there could be some simple sounds (do you know Sfxr?).

Other than that it's an interesting challenge :)

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Tough, I couldn't get the last 4 flipped.

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

i used to have a toy version of this when i was little, must have spent hundreds of hours trying to figure it out.

Enjoyed it, but couldn't finish.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I am not good at it, lol, but it feels good to click the tiles :)

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Small, but very solidly done :)

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

It would've been nice to have a limit. After a while it's just trial and error to make it smaller and smaller. This is also a fairly common puzzle game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

Great idea, really challenging! A counter for already flipped tiles as well as a smaller level to start with would be nice, but it's a lot of fun as is.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

It's very hard with such a large board, but it's minimalist, fun and fits theme

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:40am

Very cool. It would help tremendously to have a (much) smaller tile grid to begin with - a 'level 1' that could be completed in just a click or two.

x1212 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:20pm

this kind of puzzle is really hard with this size of the board ... it could have used something that motivates the player to keep going (for example if there is more than one level something like a text saying it's only level one so he knows there are more).

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Hi. Would suggest starting levels much simpler, to allow player to experience success. Was not clear what the objective was, can reveal image behind fairly quickly - at least to know what it is...

kristof says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:18am

Solid little puzzle game! The size of the grid could have been a bit smaller. Also I was not able to remove the last few bits. I hope I did not miss anything important. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]