Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Refuge

by MunkeeBacon - Jam Entry

The largest meteor in recorded history is about to hit earth, your goal is to get to a safe underground bunker before time runs out. We decided to use the idea of being beneath the surface as a goal, instead of a source of core gameplay.

UPDATE INFO: We took what a lot of you said into consideration and made a V1.2 post LD update. We got rid of almost all impossible situations. We also upped the reaction time so you can duck/jump quicker!

We are planning on making more, larger updates in the future, but we just felt like we needed to iron out these last few major problems first.

--------
trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1peDP-HPOx4 Sound/Music/Programming - Gage Henderson Art/Design - Keaton Moody

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Audio(Jam)3.80
#124Graphics(Jam)4.10
#191Overall(Jam)3.48
#223Mood(Jam)3.39
#246Fun(Jam)3.22
#316Humor(Jam)2.71
#592Theme(Jam)2.66
#700Innovation(Jam)2.20

Comments

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Has a really nice feel to it.

Garb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

gfhghj

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

Well done. It's pretty, and it's fun.

kikito says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

I could not reach the bunker!

Nice game.

jillheden says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Love the graphics and design, but the animations makes it a little hard to react, like when you jump and want to slide instantly as you land it takes a small while before you actually start sliding... Got me sometimes but I was able to reach the bunker at last. Nice game, I like it! :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Nice animations on the dude!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Great stuff! Graphics look awesome. Wish the camera pulled back a bit when the running got going faster so i could plan out my moves better.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Looks really nice. It's a pretty standard obstacle course style game, which I'm not super into, but it is very well executed, particularly the tension building near the end

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

Too many impossible to avoid situations turned what would have otherwise been a great game into just a good one. The running was good, graphics were good, the controls were responsive, but there's nothing I can do about four trucks in a row...

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

@Emphyrealheall Ah, yeah. We tried our best to get rid of as many of those situations as possible, but there just wasn't enough time. Glad you like it though!

@SevenKingdomsSurvivors Great idea! We are probably going to be updating "Refuge" sometime in the future, and I will definitely add that as a feature!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Congratulations! This is a very nice game! The graphics are fantastic. The controls could use a little work, and perhaps some logic so that you always have a chance to jump over objects (sometimes there's like 6 in a row, and it's impossible to make it over.)

Nice job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Wow really great overall! If I could have one complaint, it feels like the hitboxes on the objects/player are a little too large, and I always catch myself on the objects I have to jump over.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Brilliant! The running animation is perfect, the sound is good, and the sense of speed is addicting. I'm sharing this game with the rest of my team, and the losing animation is worth losing for. Thanks!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

It's hard to get five stars out of me. That implies sheer perfection. The audio was truly worthy of five stars. The game was fun too, this would do well ported to a mobile device. WOW.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

@Jason Lay Ah, glad you liked it, thank you for the compliment on the audio! It was my first time with "realistic" sounds (I'm used to 8-bit noises), and my first time with orchestral music. I definitely spent a little too much time on both lol.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47am

great art and style. the controls/animation need to be a bit tighter to make it a little more playable. I found myself hitting the vast majority of obstacles, even though i started jumping/ducking well before hand

ZQMony says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

Good graphics, but the delay to slide is a bit annoying.

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

i agree too many impossible to avoid situations, half the trick is just getting lucky with object placement, and the hit box on the obstacles seems too big. also annoying how you have to wait for the previous animation to stop playing before you can duck or jump again. Nice run cycle!

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nicely polished! Seems that I can't get to the end, or even avoid hitting anything along the way. Makes it seem a bit frustrating since it doesn't feel like it's my fault, more like the game is actually being unfair. Nonetheless I enjoyed it, music and graphics are pretty sweet and the controls are nice and simple.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really crisp looking art and nicely complimentary music, but unless I'm missing something it's just not possible to avoid some of the obstacles.

(Is it really possible to survive, anyhow? The game over screen suggests that there's not much left of the planet regardless...)

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Super cool runner game. I especially like the animation on the character, and how alot more intense the whole game gets as time passes, especially with all the camera shaking and such. Was very fun. I agree that it's abit difficult, but it's super tricky to get things right in such a short time. Kudos for what you achieved, you made me some fun 10 minutes :)

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Earth exploding animation? A++++++.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Finished with 1 second left! http://puu.sh/8u0cP.png Awesome game, make an endless mode :)

RikardKarlsen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03am

Great game! But I don't really see how the bunker is going to help, maybe it's a placebo bunker?

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

That's a very good game =)

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36am

I would so die in a meteor strike. Love the graphics.

Penguincat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:18am

Loved the animations and the music. You guys executed the concept really well - it was short and sweet to play, and nicely polished. :)

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:42am

Looks nice!

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Cool! What else can I say

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great pixel art, and very fluid animations.
Got to the bunker after 10 tries or so.
I felt there was not enough responsiveness in controls, or maybe it was too much penalty time between jumps/slides, or maybe the obstacles generation, something feel a bit unfair (trying with 1.2).
Nice music, and the effects do the work.
Good game, I'm sure with some further improvements will become even better.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

It looks and sounds very good, but damn! those meteors are infuriating. Like when they land JUST UNDER YOUR FEET at the end of a jump :-( .
Although the games looks like it should be very simple, the timing is always quite tense. I liked it, good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I particularly liked the ending when the world exploded. With a few tweaks you might be onto something here - I just felt it was a little unfair in the placement of obstacles.

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:56pm

I couldn't run it on my toaster :\ (Vista 32-bit)

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:37am

Daaang! ots hard, but fun! nice graphics too.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice little runner, impressive art! Controls feel sometimes laggy, especially when trying to duck just after a jump.

Trilby says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Very well made. Fun game overall.

Sometimes it's impossible to avoid the objects. I think the jumping is a bit too far and slow. Perhaps the gravity should be increased.


Sliding feels good.

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Really, really cool entry. Lots of polish and seeing the particles at play in slow mo was sweet. I played the updated version and it still seems you're prioritizing animations over reaction time though, which looks great but is slightly frustrating when what you want is lightning-fast control.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]