Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface with Sir Walter Wuffington

by Larzan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Row Sir Walter around to collect the ducks (arrow keys). This will lower the waterlevel and gems are revealed.

You can obviously only row on water, so be careful not to lower the water prematurely.

When south or north of land you can leave the boat pressing SPACE, you will find yourself on a strip of land representing the VERTICAL SLICE of the land you were close to.
Don't ask me why, it is just one of this quirky things about the protagonist Sir Walter...

Note: This time i had too many ideas, all of them too ambitious, so i settled for this (planned also an undergrund level which you could only reach on low tide) but as always time ruined my plans. Unfortunately the land mode is not complete, the land gets created, but you can't walk around or collect gems :(

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCLAIMER:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
During the morning hours of monday (~8h after the deadline when my brain was functioning again :) )
i spent another 2h fixing the following bugs:

- GEM collection: event not processed correctly, gems not collected
- PLAYER movement MAPVIEW: problems in the 2D view, player could drive of map
- PLAYER movement 2DVIEW: restriction problems, player couldn't move at all due to a physics problem
- PLAYER movement 2DVIEW: no autoswitch to Mapview when touchig the water

Use the link above to see the first buggy version uploaded in time.
Note, the new version is is NOT a postmortem version, no new content/feature has been added, only bugs fixed, AFAIU this is within the rules. If you don't think so, please feel free to use the original version.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#376Humor2.72
#402Innovation3.29
#759Theme3.03
#801Audio2.27
#892Graphics2.63
#963Mood2.52
#971Overall2.74
#1070Fun2.37

Comments

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I like this graphics :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Pretty good duck noise, yo, though it got a bit repetitive. I really liked the concept of collecting things which then changed the landscape, but sometimes when I landed, it was impossible to get the collectible thing.

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Yeah, as always, i was too short on time to add some more candy ( more/better sounds ) and get most of the bugs out :(

chrissou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Love the concept of changing the view when landing

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Interesting concept, I found myself unable to collect gem on my first try :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Yea, I lowered the water too quickly at first too. Neat game.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

Graphics are really cool!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

Hahaha the concept of the ducks and the water level amused me no end XD
A well executed game!

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

This game has a great concept! I think people don't realise you can climb any land. you can 'wallclimb' by jumping at it then bouncing back a littl and back onto the wall. Nice and easy!

I think the gems spawning -in- the land is a problem but I'll overlook it. I got a score of 360; I'm sure that's quite low. Well played sir!

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Cool game! :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

cool game! great work. I like your interpretation of the theme , did not quite figure out how the 2d stuff should work but i got some gems going : D

hope to see more at the next ludum dare

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Those ducks remind me of Flappy bird .. :D
Good Job Though ...

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Interesting 3D/2D concept!

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Interesting idea, and well executed! I notice that Walter always gets back into his boat at the same point he left it - it might be interesting if, if you went over the land and jumped in the water on the other side, you reappeared on the other side of the land back in your boat. Does that make sense?

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17am

I like the concet of different views of the islands depending where you land. Reminds me of FEZ. Nice entry!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01am

I really love the mechanics and your concept, moving between top down and side on was a great idea, I'd love to see some polish on this game I think it has a lot of potential.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

good theme using, sounds are funny, a nice little game

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

640 points! Interesting gameplay mechanic, but the whole vertical-slice feature was pretty difficult to wrap my head around.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43am

I like the gameplay where the player is it's own enemy. Nice.

flavio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47am

I like the mechanic, but how do I get the other side of an island which has block the map ? :)

Lucio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47am

Changing the view in a 2d game has great potential! nice!

Hermes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Interresting!

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice game ! I want to see it with better graphics but the gameplay is easy to understand and work well

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

This is a really cool concept, and you implemented it pretty well, too. I also really like the humor; a lot of the games I've played so far have tried to achieve darker, melancholy moods, so this really stands out.

Samleo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice graphics :) But how to get any gems?

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Looks great! Landing was kind of weird. Still a little buggy, but great concept.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Hi. I like the feel of it, but the sound grated somehow. Nice switch of viewpoint for landing.

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

The idea was pretty cool, I would like to see a finished version of this!

friken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

The idea of uncovering things and having that change the playable area is pretty cool. Makes for some interesting puzzles. Cool work.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:39am

what an interesting idea - like fez in water - nice job

alhvi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice idea. I didn't get it the first time, but the second time was fun :D. Its interesting how there are ducks you need to avoid to prevent the water level to go down. There were some gems I couldn't get because I think I locked myself out of the entry points. Nice duck sound :P, well done and thank you for trying our game.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27pm

really liked the take on the theme - would like to see more! found the platforming difficult to use but ultimately not important as long as i landed on the right part of the shore. still, really cool idea

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Funny game :D

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Really good use of the theme! Neat idea that making the water level too low could cause you to not be able to get to some parts of the islands.

May 4, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Nice mechanic.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I was doing ok until I destroyed the wetlands and all the ducks died.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:32am

I have to echo what DarkMeatGames said: I liked the concept of raising land but I feel it was too punishing. Walljumping was a little finicky too.

REALLY enjoyed the top down -> side on mechanics of sea -> land though. That was excellent.

GagaPete says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice concept, but controls feel strange to me.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I thought this was a pretty cool idea. You should expand on this and polish it up a bit.

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very interesting mechanic. Could go all sorts of fun places!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Clearly unfinished but it seems like there was some potential. The moving sound was really irritating :-)

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:15pm

I like the multi-plane concept and the idea of lowering tides changing the topology of the play space. Unfortunately, there isn't a lot of gameplay here currently. It gets boring really quickly. I think this was compounded by the fact that when I'd switch into "sideview" mode to grab a gem, i rarely could land on the piece of land with the gem. My dog character would always fall into the water. Seemed the placement was wrong or something?

Warboys says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:01am

Love the concept of flipping from overhead to side view, integrating this more with the collectable mechanic and removing some of the controlling frustrations (slow clunky movements rather than the feeling of being in a boat) could lead to some great explorative gameplay. Nice aesthetics, although I'm going out on a limb here and expressing a dislike for the duck sound!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]