Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

From Below

by muh_h - Jam Entry

In From Below your mission is to weaken the monster so whre it hit the surface the earthquake will be weaker. You can get powerups for your weapon on the way up. Watch out the falling rocks!

Graphics assests from @KenneyWings pack


W - Jump
A - Left
D - Right
Mouse - Aim
Left Click - Shoot

Postmortem -

Downloads and Links




pbsds says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Very little space to move in and i have the fieling that the lazer doesn't work yet, but love the visuals and the idea!

dejant says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Hard game with great visuals and idea. I managed to get a score of 6 :) Those special weapons are realy hard to get.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

The heartquake animation is so long :( But the concept is very good, congratulations !

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

the concept here is fucking great. a little hard to actually play, but i love the look, love the worm smashing up the city. this is awesome.

ninspriterx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27am

Actual game play was a little bit tricky. Probably just the placement of the "jump" button. Great concept, and nicely delivered with it's style.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

fun idea! I loved the simple graphics

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

Nice concept and art. The jump is very loose. I felt that if I made it to a new platform, a little bit of friction should keep me from sliding off more often.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

Or the price to pay when gravity fails. Fun concept! But a little bit too hard to play (wider platforms or/and more friction would do well).

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

That end animation ahahaha
Love the idea but the platforms are way too distant.

Good job tho :)

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice monster! Very hard to difficulty though.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Pretty hard to get the hang of the controls, but it's fun to play it.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Interesting concept. If the earthquake sequence at the end wasn't so long it wouldn't be so frustrating to lose! The graphics look great though and the earthquake animation does look awesome. It's a bit tough to focus on hitting the worm, platforming and dodging rocks all at the same time, but I enjoyed it. I did manage to get a 3.95 on my last attempt. Good job!

petrih says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Hard game, maybe too hard for me.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Almost impossible to get the 2nd laser and the city animation takes too long, maybe let you skip to the score with a button. Could be expanded with more weapons and traps if you wanted to keep working on it.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

felt game could have been better if the jumping/movement was better and the restart didn't take as long to show up, so you could quicky get back into it. Otherwise nice job!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12am

I like the game, but like others have said it's quite hard (And I like hard games)and has some "bugs" (like not knowing if your shots are doing anything and powerup sound only firing the first time)

Also, I think you might have made it unwinnable, because I got every power up and shot just about as frequently as possible and I could only get down to 4.3

If you have a game where the end score is better when lower then everybody is going to want to know what happens if you get a score of 0... However I think you might have made that impossible for this game, that or the falling rocks do lots of damage to him and they appear to be random.

Your idea was very very solid, your execution was a bit clunky though, still overall I quite liked it. (Even if it is unwinnable)

muh_h says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Thanks guys for the feedback. I am planning to make a better verion with your sugestions! :)

TyrusPeace says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:04am

Cool concept, but the speed of the movement and size of the platforms means I never felt like aiming/firing was super useful. I like the idea, but I think your idea'd have a better chance at shining if you made the shooting feel more productive and doable than it does now.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]