Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by Jojo - Jam Entry

Beneath the Surface is an dungeon crawler. The goal is to stay alive as long as possible. In your journey you'll find items and spells that might help you on your way. Spells are very useful, but they have an important drawback: they cost hp. Each spell also has a chance of one out of three to cost 10 hp extra.

Spells you may find:

Fire spell: Sets the enemy on fire. Being on fire deals 8 damage per turn. Costs 10 hp.
Ice spell: Freezes the enemy. Frozen enemies can't attack. Costs 20 hp.
Lightning spell: Deals 30 damage. Costs 20 hp.

What was your inspiration for the game?

An example game in "Petit computer", a BASIC interperter for the DSI.

Did you run into any challenges while creating the game?

Making the enemies walk to the player was a lot harder than I thought and the code for attack animations is a bit of a mess. It was also quite hard to come up with enemies. It was quite hard to draw recognizable enemies. Eventually I chose to use a lot of alien-like monsters because they are easier to draw.

By the way, I used some code I wrote earlier that I didn't publish anywhere. Is this ok? It was just some basic game loop code, and some code to make an image flash in a specific color. The rules say that "All libraries, middleware, content creation, and development tools are allowed", does this include non-game-specific code I wrote earlier and didn't publish? However reading from the re-written rules it seems that you can't use code you wrote before. Anyway, I don't think it matters too much since it was very little code, but I just want to know if it's allowed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#371Graphics(Jam)3.38
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#505Theme(Jam)2.88
#547Innovation(Jam)2.63
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I liked the retro feel to it. Also I like the graphics, they were actually funny ;)

Havacore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Wish you could've added some more depth to this, you just basically press space over and over until you're dead. I liked what you did with the art (I sympathise, I'm not a very good artist myself). With a little more work I think this could've been much more intersting.

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

My favorite part of the game is casting the spells - seeing an enemy on fire or trapped in ice is a nice reward moment. I would have loved to have more direct choice in the game - until you get your first spell, there's no way to strategize. Nice work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33pm

It's too randomly. Has no any balance.

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

It feels well-polished. I like the simplicity of the game. I died quickly, but I ate all my food! I think it was too hard? Or was it too random?

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Well, it lacks some deeper concept or better fight system - the current is too random :)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:41pm

This is a pretty cute little game. I could definitely see playing more of this if it was expanded a little!

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:57am

This could be really cool. I like the drawings and the interface. Sadly the balancing is way off. I only found a single pork chop, healing 8 HP. But that was not nearly enough to compensate the damage I got. So basically, I kept attacking until I died. It feels like I missed a lot of the game.

Shigor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:59am

Game is a set of interesting choices, in your case it's not that interesting as I more or less just press SPACE and occasionally eat something if I found something - this is too primitive for my taste.

What's worse, your random generator is all powerful... first try I got a lot of enemies, one chest which allowed me to almost survive next fight. Second attempt gave me five chests, one enemy, chest, and then neverending string of enemies...

But I did like the art :) (check my game and you'll guess why :D)

BTW using previous code is ok in your case as you've put the game in jam (and in jam... generally anything goes)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]