Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beware The Balrog

by hadesfury - Jam Entry

Updates
-------
- Post Jam Version : it mainly include the end !
- "Web" : Only playable by two player with the keyboard
- Player 1 : a/d . left control . space to confirm
- Player 2 : left/right arrows . right control . return to confirm
- "Windows (Fixes - Rules OK)" : Nothing change just keys fix when playing with joypads and scrolling fix.
- Coming soon : post compo version with an end to the game ! You probably gonna see the Balrog !

Beware the Balrog is a racing game for 4 players.
Dig, dig, dig deep beneath the surface of the Earth, grab weapons to shoot your opponents and try to go as fast as possible!

Gameplay
--------
You go faster when there is nothing to dig.
When you grab a weapon, it is automatically selected for your bot.
Shooting can slow down your opponents or destroy obstacles

Controls
--------
Can be played with up to 4 X-box pads + keyboard. (keyboard will be used when no pad left)

X-box Pad

Left stick - Move left/right
Hold A - Shoot( keep it down for the minigun )

Keyboard 1
----------
Directional keys - Move left/right
Space - Shoot ( keep it down for the minigun )

Team :
------
Martin Pierlot : Graphiste
Jen Berger : Graphiste
Jean-Micher Vilain : Programmeur
Olivier Griffet : Programmeur
Tristan de Liege : Sound Designer
Quentin Chevalier : Programmeur

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#192Theme(Jam)3.51
#220Graphics(Jam)3.77
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#405Innovation(Jam)2.94
#413Audio(Jam)2.97
#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#496Fun(Jam)2.76
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Love your artwork and sound, was a little confused when I flew into emptiness under the level and couldn't get back though.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

The art looks amazing, but I couldn't figure out what to do in the game. I dug all the way down and ended on a blue card...

MartinP says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44am

It's a race actually :) You need to play with up to 4 friends (or you will just dig ^^)

sorikaStudio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

can't download your game, chrome doesn't like it. sorry :(
Try to rename it (windows.zip looks dangerous to chrome).

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:20am

little pointless playing alone, but nice graphics :)

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31am

The graphics are great, but the game is just empty. There's nothing but a blue void below the main area. Also, it doesn't really explain what we exactly need to do. :/

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Great Game! Love it. Glitched a little but worth it.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Your graphics and music are so cool (:

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Looks nice and sounds nice. The mechanic is pretty fun too. Just doesn't go anywhere, when you get to the bottom it continues on forever.
Plays well under wine, not sure why OS X and Linux binaries weren't provided though, seeing as it's made in Unity.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The controls are kind of weird feeling on the keyboard, wasn't able to test with gamepad. Playing solo but I can certainly see the potential for fun with some friends, I'll have to check out the post-jam version!

Would be fantastic if it had networked multiplayer but obviously that is asking a bit much :P

The art and music is really good, thoroughly enjoyed it. Main feedback would be(and I understand - time limitations): make the power ups and their effects/durations more obvious and possibly have a never-ending game mode or some kind of time trial.

Great work!

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

the level ends with an endless nothingness? :P I like the idea of a downward race against friends. Never seen that before. You can see that you put effort into this game and its graphics. Well done. I like that you got controllers working in Unity. Has always been a hassle for me. (until I found the InControl library). I dont know really why, but the controls are a bit confusing though. It feels reversed for some reason.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Nice game! It was fun eating through all those walls! Too bad there is no ending or such! None the less good job!

iiechapman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Cool concept, I am loving all the local multiplayer love. This would be a great game for the Xbox. The graphics where really charming. I wish the rotation was just a little bit tighter, it felt a little off.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Seems like a great idea, just need to find some friends now. :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Pretty neat and moody! Congrats!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:15am

Played the Web version solo, but got the idea. Nice art and idea. I liked racing through the dirt and liked the effect of clearing dirt. Good job.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Fun multiplayer game but some of the collisions were randomly propelling us back and we couldn't tell if the blocks were different or not.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27pm

This is a really great idea, I can't wait to see more post-compo work on it! A single-player mode would be pretty cool too, or just add multiplayer bots.

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:53pm

really great graphics and music. I found the controls a bit irritating at first, I somehow always turned in the wrong direction. I cannot really analyze the gameplay as I played alone :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]