Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Generic Adventure Game

by Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is just a generic adventure game about a regular hero. There is nothing beneath the surface. Don't be fooled by the screenshots, they're probably fake.

Controls:
Arrowkeys = Move and Jump around
A = slash
S = nothing?
R = nothing?
Shift = DEFINITELY nothing.
M = mute

(If the game's running slowly, try resizing the window a little smaller, or otherwise use the no graphics effects version)

EDIT: Added a post-compo version, which is pretty much the same, except you can now skip text with space (plus there's a little more dialogue thrown in there)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Theme4.28
#6Overall4.33
#10Humor4.23
#16Innovation4.31
#39Mood4.04
#45Fun3.91
#46Audio3.87
#93Graphics4.04
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

killthealias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

By far one of the most unexpected delights I've come across. While the gameplay was a little offputting (walking slow is not as fun as you think it is), the wonderful humor and charm of this game is incredible! Great job!

iceferret says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

Besides the minor bugs, Great Game 5/5 !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Haha, that was fun, especially the final part :D

I never figured out how to beat the final stage though, and I feel kind of dumb because of it.

The messages from the boss had a lot of style to them, I was sad when they stopped coming. I was also sad that there was no dream world for the final part, I liked how they worked together.

I'm not too crazy about platformers though...

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Really great, feels fleshed out and lengthy. I also like the different gameplay mechanics, being defensive instead of offensive. Like other people, couldn't figure out boss though.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

Truly amazing!

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

This was amazing. It never actually seemed like something made for a game jam. Graphics,audio, and story are all excellent complements to some great gameplay with a really cool idea behind it.

I didn't wake up today thinking I was going to rate a game 5/5 across the board but here I am

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Fun game. Pretty neat puzzle mechanics. The final boss solution was not obvious at all, and it took forever for you to be able to do what you need to do (literally a waiting game). Still enjoyable.

AsixJin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

This game is dope as hell! I'd love to see more levels and more time put into this. Interesting idea and even more interesting concept/gameplay. Nice use of the them as well.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Game slows waaaaaaay down for me when I enter dream mode. Which is a shame because this game is gorgeous and I want to play all of it.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Clever, funny, awesome. Super impressive for doing this in a weekend... Excellent.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Tried again with the less intense web version and everything ran great :] One of the best entries I've seen so far. Charming, beautiful, challenging and really fun!

Aaants says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Really great job again. The best I've played yet!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Oh god this is beautiful. I have tears in my eyes.

Marvellous work. The music-switch is great.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I stopped the game after the first relocation. The gameplay was way to slow-paced for me. Heros appear seldom, you walk slow and the conversations are really slow and can't be skipped (I'm a rather fast reader).
The music is ok, nothing amazing, but a solid base.
Same applies to the graphics. Maybe use another color palette the next time.

I like the idea of the game itself, but the gameplay is too slow-paced to keep me playing.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Your color scheme caught my attention at the thumbnail. The game was all the way great! Thanks.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Oh wow, this is lovely! Very impressive! Had some trouble with the final level, the hits didn't seem to be registering, but beat it eventually.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Haha, I hope I meet an evil princess in my dream so I can talk to her and get super powers. The boss fight was not obvious at all, I was just seconds away from quitting. But then I noticed the silent thud when she was hit.

Good game, really great style. Brings back old memories :D

May 1, 2014 @ 2:38am

Oh wow! This is the first 5/5 I'll be giving for theme, but in addition it is a totally rad game. really great concept. I love the idea of being able to switch back and forth between the two worlds, and you made the dream world dreamy in all the right ways.

Nice job with the princess, I truly was not expecting that. I couldn't figure out how to beat the game, sadly, and I think a bunch of people have felt that way. I would say, maybe, just a little more evidence?

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08am

Love it.

At some point, it seemed to start playing two different pieces of background music, so I muted it. From the comments, it seems like the clue to the last level is in sound, but I can't listen to it. What's the trick?

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:23am

Jezzamon delivers again! Awesome game with a lot of heart. There's so much 'beneath the surface' going on. The initial first impression of the game, the dreams, the princess, going underground... you really nailed the theme. Cute characters, an awesome story, and a thrilling boss battle with a tricky solution. You did a fantastic job!

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Thanks everyone!

There is a glitch with the sound, I'm a little unsure why it happens, but it happens very rarely.

As for the boss fight, there is a (probably a little too quiet) sound effect that plays when you do damage. You have to do it a few times though! And when you die the boss regains health (wouldn't really be a challenge otherwise :P)

Agecaf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

This game is just great. Excellent in each and every aspect.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:31am

Hilarious. I sort of wish you didn't post any screenshots so the game's twists would have been more of a surprise.

Also, some visual indication that you're damaging the boss would be nice; I had no idea that the damage was supposed to be healed until I read the comments and wondered why it took ~40 hits to kill them.

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Okay, the criticism first:
- The music is nice - for the first few loops. It was getting on my nerves soon, because the loop is so short.
- Sloooooow dialog without the option to skip it? Ugh.
- Why do I have to HOLD the Shift key?

Apart from that: Charming and witty, with lovely art - I enjoyed it a lot!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:48am

Holding the shift key is gold! Jezzamonn, never change!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:52am

lol nice game. http://screencast.com/t/eFJUxyDqNhBH i beat it. i really liked the boss fight. it was personally my favorite part of the whole game. <3<3 the humor was very appreciated. TEXT was so SLOW. :/ just need a ticker or a clicker for those that want to speed through the chats. :D the music toggle was nice too, but i wanted the sfx, so i endured the loop. <3 if you could toggle the music, but not the sfx, that'd be perfect.

tomvert says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice concept, I got stuck, I didn't know what to do with the chest...

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Such a smart and cute game. I love the twist that came up after you were the hero. Totally unexpected, and the game from there just got better and better. Some of the dialogue took a bit long and it would be nice to breeze through a little faster, and the girl's speech font was a bit hard to read. But otherwise I'm super into this game. It's very intelligent!

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22pm

This is amazing. The best game I've seen so far. Wonderful. :D

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Didn't expect that, the dream was nice, the dialogue with the redhead lady was waaaay slow though.

Simon says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very very cool game. I really dig the way you make fun of everything! :)

M4rw4 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:19am

Nice idea, i like the graphics and the soundtrack very much, but it needs more levels to declare the idea, Good Work! :)

davidcollado says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Amazing game!

mat1er says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Princess!

GFM says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:27am

I got stuck at the fourth dream. I wasn't able to do the jump. =/
Still, I really liked what I was able to play. The dream part was really nice and pretty! All those effects made it way different than the normal world.

May 10, 2014 @ 8:38am

Very clever and very well done puzzle game. Original. I liked it a lot.

Kimau says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:47pm

That ending A+++
Really an amazing game that did well past my expectations and is so polished. Really well done on creating a gem.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:24pm

WOW! How do you beat the boss?

hanoth says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Really nice use of the theme. It was fun up until the boss fight, which made no sense to me so I quit.

Erkberg says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really, really great overall. I almost quit at the bossfight too, because I didn't notice the hurt-sound, but I just wanted to see how the game ends and it was totally worth it and hilarious.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really polished game with amazing load of content. Movement is little bit slow, but in every other way this is really gem. Good job :-)

May 18, 2014 @ 4:43am

You made a PERFECT game! Congratulations! =D

I loved the story, visuals, and the style of the game! The dream world is gorgeous...

And I really liked the songs of the game!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:55am

so good. really

Skyfish says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 9:47am

I can't pass the first dream in either flash versions, I can only jump diagonally to the right, not left, so I cannot reach the girl on the platform. Gave yo after a few minutes. Nice concept, but I want to know what happens! Can someone make a you tube let's play? I already feel attached to the slime. Great characterization :P

impe83 says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice lil game! what did you use to make it?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]