Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thurgood P. Marshall and the Quest for Ontological Theory Advancement

by CherryCupid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about bullying. The name comes from a dream I had, and because naming games is bullshit. Source: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/50223235/ld48425.tws

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Graphics4.16
#320Humor2.83
#783Innovation2.74
#871Mood2.64
#1022Audio1.50
#1050Theme2.49
#1132Overall2.51
#1184Fun2.06
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very strange game. Tried different combinations of things, but kept getting the same ending. It's unclear as to what the player needs to do or if there is more than one ending.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

not really sure what just happened...but it was kind of neat visually.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Ha, this is a neat idea. Just short enough :)

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very nice art!

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Interesting game.

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

Nice game - had one point to make and completely made it

pansapiens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Those are some great little sprites right there. And then bzzzzt! ... piles of dust.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:22pm

It makes the point and the art is really nice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Really like how focused the game is.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very nice art.

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Awesome art!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

That was weird! I liked the pixel art though. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Exceptionally great imagery

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Beautiful sprites! The incineration effect was lovely. I found the cuteness of the tormentors to be a little dissonant? Maybe this is intentional.

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

not sure what happened but it made me laugh and it looks great

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

wonderfullll art

Crooksister says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:54am

Didn't understand game-play, good art though.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:12am

Love the pixel art and colors :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]