Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deeper

by Neokortik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You can tear reality apart, diving from one surface to another. But to dive beneath next surface you must live long enough for your energy to recharge.

Contols: arrow keys.

Hey, guys! I added Windows version and replaced linux version and sources to appropriate ones.

Linux version should run even without needed libraries (they are in package). You can launch it with "./launch.sh".

To compile sources on linux you can now just do "./configure", "make" and launch executable with "./deeper". You still need libraries like libsdl2-2.0-0, libsdl2-image-2.0-0 and libsdl2-mixer-2.0-0.

Windows version should work just by launching "deeper.exe".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#381Audio3.03
#542Humor2.45
#611Mood2.93
#621Graphics3.06
#793Theme2.97
#850Overall2.88
#862Innovation2.65
#931Fun2.58

Comments

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

How do you run your game?

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

CayoDaves, if you're on linux, you can extract archive anywhere and execute "launch.sh" or "deeper" if you have all needed libraries. I really hope that would work.
I'll upload .deb package and Windows version as soon as I can.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I added Windows version and replaced sources and linux version, instructions are in descriptions. Should work now.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Pretty neat.I like they story to it, and I really looked forward to getting to each additional level. The backgrounds remind me of earthbound. Something that bothered me was how the enemies hurt you. At first I thought moving back and forth got rid of them, but it was very inconsistent, so I have no idea if it actually works. That is my biggest gripe though, and I think you have a nice little game.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

CayoDaves, thanks! That was actually the original idea, to get rid of life eaters by moving, but in the end I didn't have enough time to do it and decided to stick with pure random. There are too much random in the end, I don't like it, but oh well.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Metroids! :D

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

wow what a lovely game, very moody and also funny. good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I was super confused at first, before reading here. I thought I was supposed to collect all the hats :D

Very cool, effective backgrounds. And pressing both arrow keys is actually a very nice control scheme for something like this, instead of using the spacebar or the likes.

Audio was nice, and suited the game well!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

http://i.imgur.com/XFb5GAT.png

I actually thought that they looked like monsters from Solgryn's Wings of Vi, but didn't realized that they definitely look like metroids. Despite even that I played Metroid through last week.

Haha, it seems like a lot of people thought of monsters as of hats that need collecting. Now I really want to upgrade this game, implement different gameplay mechanics and camera.

Thanks for feedback, guys!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Liked the music and it was a nice concept... a bit hard understanding initially...

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

The art's not bad at all, but i couldn't get my head around the gameplay.

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

I really liked the way the game looked. I too was slightly confused by the enemies, and moved back and forth to get rid of them. Also, I actually laughed at the end.

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I Love the artistic backgrounds.

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57pm

It wasn't clear to me at first that the blue floating things were enemies - I thought I had to catch them. Once I realised they were enemies, I realised it was too hard to dodge them effectively beyond the second level. I liked the music, but the transition sound effect was too grating.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:39am

I guess i finished the game (pressed ESC)
it was funny when the blue things first touched me
Good idea :)

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I missed a bar telling you how much energy you still need to transit again, other than that I found the game very challenging. Good work

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice backgrounds. I ran the linux version using my system's SDL2 libraries (the supplied ones were 32bits). I could hear sound effects, but no music :(

Sergraz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:28am

Thanks for comments! This feedback really helps.
f7f5, thanks! That could be because SMPEG lib is missing, I am not sure though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]