Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ants

by justinmchase - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first time really making something in Unity alone, so be gentle please :). I referenced wikipedia's A* algorithm and gave credit to it in the code. I also found a snippet of some camera code and modified that and put a reference back to the original source but everything else was completely new.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#562Innovation3.06
#568Theme3.25
#785Graphics2.81
#1161Overall2.44
#1184Fun2.06
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

killthealias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Your game ceases to boot with the error "ant_Data folder required next to executable" Please fix!

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Currently can't play because it doesn't have the ants_data file included in the download! I'll try to replay when you fix!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Can't run the Windows .exe

It's looking for a data folder in the zip that's missing.

justinmchase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Ok sorry :( Will fix. I didn't realize that was necessary.

justinmchase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

ok I updated the zip file, it should work now. Sorry about that.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

Is there a web version lurking somewhere? I just got led to your bitbucket.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

Looks like a 3d dig dug bug but missing monsters. Good concept and has potential but it currently needs more game.

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16am

Sorry RowdyGhosts, I tried to build a web version but I think my reliance on right clicking and ctrl+clicking was messing with the web player. Lesson learned :-/

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

It seems more like a 3d, monochromatic version of MS paint than a game. I made an elbow joint...

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I would love to see some more work go into this, there seems to be a lot of unrealized ideas that would make the game more of a cohesive experience

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:27am

There doesn't appear to a ton of "game" right now (not unlike my own entry), but it's a fun concept that could be turned into a sandbox building / base management game. Also I think the ant could do with a little bit of a speed boost on long trips.

bushmango says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:43pm

really good start! reminds me of simant... ahh memories

Tuism says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:44am

Why no web build if you're on Unity! Not having web build is one of the biggest barriers to people playing your game, these days :)

Needs more game, I like the idea, but I guess Minecraft didn't have "more game" unlil much later either :)

Keep going! :)

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:14am

I didn't really understand what I was supposed to do, tried to discover more grass but that's it... Feels like an early prototype, would be interesting to see something more complete!

tastyoishi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Really kinda fun, would be good to have some more objectives though, want to leave it going while I do other stuff :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]