Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Woods

by Rick Hoppmann - Jam Entry

Venture deep inside the woods, on a journey of your own.

Controls
--------
move: LEFT and RIGHT
action: DOWN


Get Gameart: https://tinyurl.com/the-woods-art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#46Mood(Jam)4.05
#52Graphics(Jam)4.37
#122Audio(Jam)3.67
#358Overall(Jam)3.23
#463Theme(Jam)2.98
#471Innovation(Jam)2.77
#508Humor(Jam)2.22
#607Fun(Jam)2.47

Comments

czery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Great art, great mood, great message!
I would like to see a more developed version of this art. Maybe some more interactions between the hero and nature itself.
Keep up the great work!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

love the pixel art. anything after nature heals or did it lock up on me?

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Great sound, great art, really fantastic presentation overall. I would like to see the game itself developed a bit more, maybe some more environmental interactions. Fantastic work!

Melondonut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I love the mood and art. And I wish it had more volume!!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Lovely, just a bit short, beautiful art and a bit depressing! Good job though!

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

Fun game, really enjoy playing it!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

Great mood, awesome pixel art, fantastic game!

increpare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

through, not trough :)

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

great artwork!

increpare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

through, not trough :) found this pleasing.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Very nice atmosphere, good job :)

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

Loves the art stule. Wished it was longer though.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very nice vibe. Love the art.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

I managed to get to "Nature Heals". What thereafter ? Otherwise great graphics and atmosphere!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Really enjoyed that. The graphics and sounds make a wonderful atmosphere. Not sure if I was missing something but I would like more to do in that world.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Loved it!

Atlas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great art and sound design. I really wish the world had more to offer in the game though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:45am

It sure is tiny. I'd go for a walk in the canyon now, if it wasn't so hot. Nature makes me sweat.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I like the art style and the colour palette you used, and I really like the atmosphere it creates along with ambient sounds and the falling leaves. However it seems rather short. I managed to get the bunny to follow me, but maybe there is more?

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Got just the right mood captured! I didn't find a whole lot to do though. I fed the bunny and I didn't feed the bunny. I interacted with the tombstone and I didn't. Got the nature heals text every time. I wish there were more to do!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Lovely art style and atmosphere. Would be nice if there were more actual gameplay.

Joseph Miller says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:37am

A very nice experience, would definitely wander around these woods some more. I really appreciated all the environmental touches, like the bugs and falling leaves.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:33am

very nice

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Great pixel art, great mood!

Claude-Henry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:57am

very short for 72 hours, but, so nicely designed and polished... nice job

XenosNS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Lovely little vignette

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:50pm

No, it doesn't. It freezes your ass and bites at your heart with poisonous teeth. Screw nature.
Great artwork though.

May 5, 2014 @ 1:51pm

The graphics are just stunning, I love the little leaves slowly falling to the ground! <3

TeamInCharge says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Love the atmosphere, art and interpretation of the theme.

May 6, 2014 @ 9:13am

Impressive art and ambiance but it's way too short. We want more!!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:17am

Looks

May 6, 2014 @ 9:22am

Really nice graphics! I picked up a carrot but didn't know what to do with it and when I reached the "we need to talk" part I thought I did something wrong :O

Zutty says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:52am

Beautiful.

gnerkus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:16am

The art is beautiful. I hoped there would have been some more interaction.

May 6, 2014 @ 1:36pm

This is really short, which is a bit of a pity...
It looks great though. And the atmosphere you've created is incredible :)

Jyrkface says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Gorgeous, immensely atmospheric game. Thanks for sharing :)

May 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Amazing graphics. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

peterlavey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I like games and deep depressive :)

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:47am

A very simple game with a very simple message. I loved the pixel art and the background sounds.

Gamepopper says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:17am

Outstanding graphics, simple gameplay with a very subtle message. Great entry. :D

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really loved the pixel art, you managed to set up a really engaging and beautiful environment, good job!

GamerTaters says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Nice artwork and sound. I liked the message of the game. Cool entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]