December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

ENDLESS NIGHT

by dsoft20 - Jam Entry

Endless night is a "survival" space game where you are a Captain of a Space Ship!
Unluckly an asteroid destroys the ship and you must find a crewmember to repair a rescue capsule, but remember you can only save one crewmember!
The only way to find a crew member is to use the SONAR!
It's Higly reccomended to play the game with a set of stereo speakers/headphones!!!

For more info select help on the menu.

CONTROLS:
ARROW KEYS-> MOVE THE ASTRONAUT
Z-> USE SONAR

If you find the game too difficult you can press E on the computer screen to play in easy mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#100Innovation(Jam)3.36
#106Mood(Jam)3.45
#154Theme(Jam)3.15
#206Overall(Jam)3.22
#254Graphics(Jam)3.25
#293Humor(Jam)2.24
#305Fun(Jam)2.76
#315Audio(Jam)2.70

Comments

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Loveley game. I like the characterization of the crew members.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Interesting game, it shows that a lot of dedication was put into it.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Great game and great characters!

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Deep and touching. Very good!

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Loved it! A bit sad though. ):

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19am

Lovely game, both the art and the mechanics.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52am

Excellent mechanics and story!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:10am

Wow, it was incredibly atmospheric and sometimes felt like I was interacting with other people. Really well done, it seems to capture the feeling of being in space really well :)

jjc180 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:36am

Really enjoyable game with great characters. Good work on the art! Must have been a lot of work.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14pm

This game looks great. It is pretty fun just to fly around and explore. On my laptop keyboard I don't have up/down so I can't shuffle crew members. I will come back to this later when I'm on my desktop :)

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Adding an element of story really makes this great, good work!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32pm

great atmosphere and game! respect to the team :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good game and nice pixel art!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:15am

I really like the graphics and animations in this game.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:22am

I love the atmosphere of this game but I miss music (even if in space there's no sound!), well done anyway!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Pretty cool, dense atmosphere and interesting mechanic.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very cool and very atmospheric, but insanely hard too. Or at least I don't quite get how to play it yet.

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:25am

The controls are very solid and the pixel artwork is beautiful. Even it's pixelated I can feel that I am floating in space. The title page is stunning as it has a 3d pixelated spaceship model which you wish you want to play with. I just wish it wasn't too hard. I wish the sonar would ping back a circle so I can easily determine the location of the crewmembers or parts. Overall a wonderful game made in less than 72 hours.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:02am

Actually if you press E when you are viewing the crew description the game will play in easy mode.
In easy mode the game is the same, but the sonar will ping back with a circle the locations of crewmembers/obstacles/material/rescuecapsule with different color for each one (green, red, cyan and blue) :P

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45am

Ah man. I really like the premise behind this. Reminds me of the movie Gravity. I also thought the somewhat 3D effects you applied were well done too, such as the feet on the rescue shuttle. An extended, polished version of this would be really well received, I think.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:05am

You need a bit of luck to find a "good" crew member at the Beginning.
I succeed to repair the capsule to 100% but I didn't find what to do then, I tried to enter it. We result all M.I.A.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:39am

mmm strange, if you are close to the repaired capsule the game should end with 5 M.I.A. and 2 Alive & Safe (captain and the crewmember who have repaired the capsule) mmm

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Reminds me Gravity - an awesome movie!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Really liked the concept, the graphics were nice and the cutscenes laid out the story nicely. I had trouble getting my bearings after a while though and couldn't find my way back to the module. :(

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:56pm

There's a little trick to find the way back to the rescue capsule:
first you have to remember if you where left or right to the capsule, then go up/down to find a line of broken parts in the background (they have a little particle effect).
If you find the line go left or right (based on the diretion you've taken) and then you should be at the rescue capsule :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]