December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

GAMEHAX

by zaratustra - Jam Entry

arrows move and jump

Game uses a JPG with PNG mask because that's three times smaller. If your browser is insufficiently muscular to handle that, click the link under it to remove the image.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Innovation(Jam)3.88
#31Fun(Jam)3.80
#58Overall(Jam)3.72
#71Humor(Jam)3.35
#148Graphics(Jam)3.76
#149Theme(Jam)3.16
#187Mood(Jam)3.13
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50am

I accidentally discovered the door power and ran into the corrupted memory world.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56pm

The corrupted memory world, oh my god - made my day :D
Sadly there was no music/sound effects. That would make this game just perfect. The graphics look really cute and physics are really nicely done. Very interesting concept!

whatda45 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45pm

"Send a photo of your best score to our offices."
Can't find any email though... so...
Found BigHeadMode, found secret ending (left and up from start screen), found 21 stars.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

This is one of my favourites, even though it doesn't have music/sound. It's deeper than I thought. Also, it's pretty easy to end up in memory corrupted world: DHepQHEgo=_Y0HD;U9NCBQ(^nlEd%a-Wo%d2W)H

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

There's a whole bunch game here! I love the implication of the 90's era Gameshark style cart hacking too. Lots of fun, nice job!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28am

I loved this because it was so satisfying to jump so high... and yet the levels were designed so that highjumping made it hard! Beautiful graphics, too.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Loved it. (But then, I'd expect nothing less from the creator of Eversion. :3)

The only gripe I had is that it could've used some music. Also, is there any real point to collecting stars? Because I reset the game and discovered I could get to the "secret ending screen" without issue.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:05pm

There are so many, "Wow, What?!" moments in this game. I love it. The sheet of paper to write down game codes is hilarious.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Really great concept. Platforming felt a little fiddly at times as far as collision detection goes.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:02pm

amazing entry, but as some have said before: music please! and that collision detection that GarethIW pointed out can make it frustrating at times.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice idea!. Loved the physics.
It's not that obvious you have to click the image on the left to start.

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

"Ha, I have super jump, surely the game will be unbalanced now," I thought, and continued to think about every power. The fact that you guys balanced a game that is about having cheat powers is amazing.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:06pm

That is probably one of the greatest ideas for a metroidvania platformer I've seen. As someone who grew up on the old GamePro/Nintendo Power magazines, it connected on all the right levels ;) Sound was missed and while the image effect was put to good use, it would've been nice to see some original art. Great job overall though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]