December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

WaterColor

by henrykun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tools: OpenFL, Inkscape, sfxr
Soundtrack by Chzz: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/537291

Sadly I could not make as many levels as I wanted but you can get the idea of the game with this little demo.

Arrows: Move and Jump
X: Shoot
Goal: Black Portal

There is a story behind the game but I didn't have enough time to add it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#67Innovation3.76
#68Audio3.55
#73Fun3.63
#105Overall3.65
#238Mood3.18
#343Humor2.61
#426Theme3.02
#469Graphics2.98

Comments

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

Nice Gameplay!

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Muy buen juego minimalista! La mecanica y la musica de ambiente son lo maximo bebe!

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Excelente idea, quisiera ver una version post-compo con mas niveles para ver que otra nuevas mecanicas se te ocurre con los colores. Lo que llevas es bastante entretenido!

Lo unico que no se entiende muy bien es que las puyas te devuelvan el color.

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

Awesome Gameplay!
hola jenri

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

Hola bebe.

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Paolo apesta.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

This is so challenging and fun!

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Really nice gameplay, super non-intuitive for me, but maybe I didn't play long enough. Got to about level 3 before getting frustrated!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I like it. After a few failed jumps I could intuitively guess my way to the mechanics. It is also quite difficult, which is neat.
One big negative though is that while the music is nice, at 1% in my audio mixer it was still a tiny bit loud for me. Since I usually keep it at 50% It blew my ears out the first time I started the game.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Good tight gameplay and great action/puzzler concept! Enjoyed it a lot!

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Really nice! Took a few tries to get used to it, but in the end I just wanted more levels :-P

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Music was excellent, definitely enjoyed the mechanics of shooting the different colored guys to jump on the platforms. Great job!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

One of the more unique mechanics i've come across this LD. deceptively simple and yet oh so complex. A very excellent and well done game!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

This was awesome. Firstly a great idea, well executed. The audio and visuals work well together and the whole thing is great.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice puzzle game and the difficulty level felt about right. Music was good but a little loud.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

Nice! Doesn't waste any time getting challenging either. :D Love it!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43am

Wow! This is definitely one of my favorites so far. The gameplay was really cool. Excellent use of the theme. And I enjoyed the simplistic yet polished feel to the graphics. Plus the sound was great!

The only thing I think I might suggest is a bit more of a learning curve in terms of difficulty. I felt like the first level I was learning and then I was just thrown into the fire XD. Overall very enjoyable. Would recommend :)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46am

good game! I had a similar idea for a platformer when the theme was announced, but this was well done.
It's a little difficult though I think, or maybe my timing is just horrible :)

xk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09am

Great game! Music is awesome mechanics are simple but challanging. Love it!

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very nice... also very hard! :)

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Wow, awesome game. I like both the idea and implemention. Also, the music is good too. :)

I'm still not sure how it fits the theme but the game is good.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50pm

interesting

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Excelente juego henry. Me encanta que hayan tantos venezolanos en el ludum dare. 5*8 estrellas para todos los venezolanos jejejeje

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really clever idea. A little tricky, but I like tricky :) well done!

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:00am

Inventive mechanics + solid level design = win
This is by far the most solid gameplay I've seen so far.
I liked that everything was intuitive enough not to require any explanation. You always get it after dying a couple of times.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:18am

was tricky but ace

cesisco says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:09pm

One of the best concepts i've seen.With a better learning curve, this would be awesome.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Great music, fun controls. I wish the bullets went faster because a more twitch-shot color changing would fit more naturally with the way the jumping and platforming feel. Lots of fun though. I was a little confused about why the colored guys can stand on the white platforms. I'd love to see you continue work on this.

OneDee says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:54am

Cool gameplay idea!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Great concept! Amazing music!

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Great game! Really liked the gameplay and music. I'd play more levels :)

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very interesting gameplay! Clever puzzles. Nicely done.

Beavl says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Cool mechanics. Perhaps it needs a little more balancing, but nice entry overall!

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Wow, the concept was really original and the gameplay enjoyable. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]