December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boomerang Battle

by Lafolie - Jam Entry

"Quest for the Golden Boomerang which lies atop a tower where you must battle its current owner."

The stairs to the next floor will be revealed when all the switches have been lit by hitting them with the boomerang.

Pretty much finished, entire game can be completed. The final floor is fun.

Controls:

- Use the mouse to aim.
- Left click throws / picks up the boomerang
- Right click draws the boomerang back
- WASD/Arrows to move
-Press Tab to toggle window size

The boomerang will fall to the floor if it is not picked up after a short time. Should it fall down a hole you'll have to retrieve it (remember, you only get 1!).

Physics, AI, programming: Joe Mycock
Music, sounds, art, level design, misc programming: Dale James

Tech used:

-Made with Love ( love2d.org ) framework
-Photoshop for graphics
-Reason for music/sound effects (Korg MIDI interfaces)
-Notepad++ / SublimeText2 for code
-Slither by bartbes ( bitbucket.org/bartbes/slither ) for OOP in Lua (Python style!)
-Developed on OSX and Windows

Game-breaking bugs have been fixed and it should now be possible to complete the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Theme(Jam)3.38
#96Innovation(Jam)3.38
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#254Audio(Jam)2.93
#274Graphics(Jam)3.19
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43am

Neat! I also made a boomerang game, though quite different! Check it out :D
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06am

The resolution is a little big for my poor little 1600x900 monitor, so that made me lose my boomerang a couple times. I like the challenge of catching the boomerang while it's moving. Your enemies are creepy. Really creepy. Nice work on that.

Lafolie says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:31am

Thanks for comments. Bugfixes are being worked on, the only issue left is the collision bug that deletes the boomerang. Due to the physics this is proving tough to fix, but we've narrowed it down the culprit function. New binaries should be available in the next day or two.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:15am

error 87 confused me ((

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:06am

I played about 4 floors, but I lost a boomerang across a pit and had no way to get it back. It was pretty fun up until then though!

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:19am

Nice job! Cool idea, everything plays very smoothly.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:45am

Nice gameplay ! Great work guys !

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:06am

Nice designed dungeons. Great idea... great resolution :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Interesting concept. It was fun and silly having to chase around your boomerang, but it was too easy for the boomerang to get stuck somewhere you cannot reach.

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I liked it.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

great job! i think it would be cool to have the boomerang loop back to you on its own but if you arent in good proximity then just running up to it and over it gets it back.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Cool game, but I lost my 'rang :/ I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I love this game and I want to see the future versions!!
The only annoying thing was that boomerang and enemies can hide behind the walls.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:07am

Congrats. Interesting idea. I made a similar game a lot of time ago.. it was a FPS when you have one ball to kill enemies... I should have recycled that idea :( Great game. I would have preferred not press the mouse button to take the boomerang back,.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]