December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Swordketeer

by stephan_h - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You get only one answer from swordketeer Mareene: Death by pricking! May god have mercy for all prickable souls.

This game is not really finished. It misses gameplay and content and has no strong direction regarding the theme.

But I wanted to publish it here because I rather like how the presentation came together.

Walk with WASD or Arrows and fight with Click or Ctrl.

I tested the WebPlayer and Windows. Will test Mac and Linux when I have time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#245Audio3.00
#355Graphics3.20
#400Humor2.47
#462Mood2.82
#596Fun2.72
#811Overall2.60
#878Innovation2.21
#926Theme1.96
#998Coolness48%

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46am

I really enjoyed the card-like 'swordketeers' ;)
Controls are hard to manage, good BGM, nice logo too!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54am

haha, like the graphics and the concept though it is very hard , i think it'd be easier if you looked the way you clicked your mouse instead of the way you were walking. There was one point a guy stopped attacking me and I thought I'd made a friend then i turned round and he stabbed me in the back!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09am

Hey nice entry :) maybe try to make your game more nervous, by making a fastest hit animation for exemple.
Anyway, great job !

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16am

Graphics are awesome and because of that overall it feels very polished and good.

Gameplay itself is a bit confusing though. (mainly because the attack animation is a bit confusing) Hard to understand when you're actually doing damage and when you should step away.

Like BrainDeadGeo said it would be cooler if you looked toward the mouse.

Overall still pretty good work. Especially on the polish!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice game i love the graphics!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

The animations atack could be more faster.

One thing that you could add to the game is to select your char, even with all of them moving the same it would be very nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20pm

'Death by pricking' lol. Hit and run tactics seem to work best. Overall a good entry stephan in terms of mechanics and well made but obviously more direction and a climatic boss fight at the end would have jumped this up quite a big in the ranks I think. Good to see you entering once again!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:00am

I really liked the graphics of this game. The attacks felt a little weird thou. Try adding a single white frame on hit. That will give some better feedback to the player.

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I got to a point where it said 'Fight' but no enemies arrived, I guess I can attribute that to the game not being finished?

The AI is pretty bad, you can win all the fights by charging the enemy so that they end up facing the wrong way and you just stab them from behind. I like the character designs and the art in general, but there is a clear inconsistency between the characters and the environmental assets (plants, rocks, trees).

The parallax scrolling was a cool idea, but the back layers make little sense. Why are they so jagged? Are they distant mountain ranges? If they are, why are there huge, bare trees on them? You need some intermediary levels, like smooth hills, between them. It currently looks like pathway, then suddenly distant mountains.

I liked the UI, clean and functional. The logo is also top-notch.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Good sounds, nice gameplay!

Bernhard says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:26am

Killing enemies that are facing the wrong way is the best :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]