December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Every Five

by joewan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You got only one bullet every five seconds.
Get points for hitting the other player or capture a flag that shows up every 20 seconds.

A game for 2 player.

Control:
Player 1:
Left, Right - Walk
Up - Jump
Down - Shoot

Player 2:
A,D - Walk
W - Jump
S - Shoot

Made in 4 hours!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#455Fun2.92
#557Graphics2.81
#570Overall2.93
#676Theme2.56
#791Mood2.31
#914Innovation2.12
#965Coolness49%

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33am

No second player for me but I can still rate the game on its merits. Really good solid platforming engine you built here, collisions are great, framerate is smooth, feels responsive, graphics are actually really great. One thing which could be improved, would be nice to jump higher if you hold down the jump button (or jump less if you're just tapping it). I recommend looking at the Sonic Physics articles (http://info.sonicretro.org/Sonic_Physics_Guide) for a really good platforming implementation - certainly helped me!

Overall, good job :)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I'll have to try this with a friend when I get the chance. Extra points for this being multiplayer. Not enough co-op/VS experiences out there.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Good graphics, well done. I didn't hear any sound though?

joewan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Unfortunately there is no sound. I started 4 hours before deadline, so I didn't had enough time.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I really liked the games mechanics! it's a shame I have no friends!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Wow, you're a real challenger ! This is awesome for a game made in 4 hours ! I had a lot of fun to play it with my brother :)

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:52am

Played against myself. And I WON! I like the solid controls. Interesting concept.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Making a local multiplayer game is a risky maneuver since most reviewer play by themselves, but I can see this gameplay concept be very fun, nice job.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I like the simplistic visuals, consistent colour scheme too. Shame there's no mode against AI.

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:56am

I enjoyed playing this game w/ my kid, a good entry!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

this is not new concept, not super polished game. I've got a feeling. that's something wrong with this game.
Maybe, because I'm playing alone! )) my right hand against my left hand! Deathmatch!))
Come on Lefty! Kick Mr. Rights ass! Bring it on! ))

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]