December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bee Honey

by shanageek - Jam Entry

"Bee honey" is a typing game where movement of your character is processed by entering story text and sending commands.

Window on the bottom left screen holds the story text whereas the window on right bottom of the screen is used to send command to the character e.g. "/jump" command.

To switch between entering story text and command, press '/' key.

List of available commands:
- "/jump"
- ...Have fun finding out?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Innovation(Jam)3.64
#188Humor(Jam)2.68
#262Graphics(Jam)3.23
#288Audio(Jam)2.79
#400Mood(Jam)2.53
#402Overall(Jam)2.76
#457Fun(Jam)2.32
#516Theme(Jam)1.90
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

This is VERY hard. Really liked the concept one of the most innovate jams Ive seen. 5 stars Well done.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09am

It wouldn't load for me, I had waited 10 minutes.

shanageek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

@lordjosephdeburg
Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

@ParaPup
Sorry about that, I'v uploaded if you are still interested it (sorry if you are a mac user...).

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

This is actually a pretty interesting and fun mechanic; I enjoyed it. There appear to be some typos, though, such as with "instractions" and such - careful!

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20pm

good idea liked the art well done

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Very hard to control with enter actions into keyboard! However ,good graphics and sounds!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Funny. It took me a while to understand but then I got it :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Interesting concept and well presented but, I just couldn't get in to it, it seemed a bit beyond fun (for me!)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Woah, that's hard! But very original concept!

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice game, good job.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Interesting mechanic but it's always run run run? I can also jump but its too difficult :D Yet this mechanic is awesome, innovative. GJ :) I also couldn't get the connection to the theme.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Didn't seem to be much to it apart from run and jump, though it may have gone wrong for me - kept running and my score wouldn't increase, there were no obstacles and the bee didn't catch up

larb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Unnecessarily hard! Even though, I like the idea of typing run and jump. :) Nice graphics too.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Pretty fun concept actually! Like the graphics although it took me a while to figure out what I could actually type but that was kinda half the fun :D

Nut says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Does any more story text ever show up? Once I successfully got past the first few obstacles, nothing else seemed to happen.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:26am

Again: cute graphics! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]