December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one happy little life

by lorniebear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I entered this competition because my dad always entered it and I wanted to have a go. We are having a competition to see who wrote the better game. He is lucky because he hasn't had to do the game, homework, and get to bed on time. He has even gotten out of doing the dishes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#110Audio3.38
#155Humor3.20
#179Mood3.32
#383Fun3.02
#478Theme2.92
#491Overall3.00
#674Graphics2.58
#726Innovation2.54

Comments

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:15am

I am so proud (Dad). Now, there's a bunch of washing up waiting for you in the kitchen :P

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

And he got out of doing the dishes! Ridiculous! Fun but tough! I like the black top hat!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Great job. I loved the Top Hat.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Awesome game, really well done.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Zomg. Right in the feels.

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Cute game. And it's nice to see a Scratch game on here. :-)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08am

Good game! Keep making games and they will only get better.
I liked the jumping sound effect, funny stuff.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09am

This game pits my love of cuteness directly against my disdain for Scratch.

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Sweet game! I also like the backstory behind it.
Regarding the game, I especially enjoyed the audio aspect (and the cuteness) - the music is catchy and the sfx are so sweeeeet! :)

May you beat your dad in the compo! (I'll try his game too)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:24am

Pretty fun game!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53am

I finally made it to level 9, but DANG, it's hard!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very well done. Made me feel happy. :D

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice and very kind game)

davisan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Very cute and hard. :)

Agram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Cutest game i have played here so far.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Fun, quick little game, and really cute! Also, really, really hard. I couldn't get past that red flower at that one level at all :)

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Adorable :)

supremefist says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Good job :)

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game, but can't ... pass ... level ... four :(

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Great job!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:38pm

That game is HARDCORE ! The spacebar's surprise is a nice touch.

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:40am

Such a cute game. Nice work! Just a little hard for me to play at later levels. Still, nice work overall.

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:56pm

This game is cray-cray adorbs.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Omg, cutest thing. Loved the surprise button haha

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really happy, made me smile the whole way through. I loved the "weehee". The physics felt good - kudos for achieving that! I didn't manage to make it all the way to the end, but that's okay, because I got a smile anyway. ;) PS. Loved the surprise button!

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Cute, Audio is the highlight. Wheehee yah!

local minimum says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Fantastic game, haven't played your dad's but I'm sure you won the competition between you. Never got passed level 4, but enjoyed switching outfit and trying. Sound effects were great. So if there's anything you could consider improving it would be making the controls a little more forgiving for us with not so great reaction times.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]