December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Papaya

by Tsumei - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play the game online at: www.aardal.nu/Ludumdare

Batty the Bat has a need for Papaya. Help him hunt down the Papaya within the fortress of the Beaver-hipsters.

The beaver hipsters do not care for eating or hunting bats, but will be suspicious and attack if you veer too close to them.

Eat plums to increase your energy levels, allowing you to survive a scrap with beavers should you stray too close.
(Plums add to your hidden energy counter, this is a game about avoiding enemies; Try to not get caught or bumped into!)

The game requires HTML5 to run, and will be playable from any browser capable of it's features.
I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#138Humor3.27
#423Theme3.03
#436Graphics3.05
#602Mood2.62
#652Overall2.82
#739Fun2.50
#793Audio1.27
#868Innovation2.24

Comments

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Cool one

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Short and made me laugh. Good job!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice interesting and varied terrains, with good graphics. Enjoyable!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I took the half-eaten one because it's icon looked more familiar. Don't judge me.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Pretty nice!

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Haha, Mental Atrophy! Yeah, that's why the half eaten end is not as judgmental, It's just confused. I realised later that it was probably due to the similarities with the logo; But it is hard to represent a papaya without seeing it's insides!

Gear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I could have easily mistaken those guys for humans if you hadn't told me they were evil beavers. Yay for papayas.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Don't know why I had the grin on my face in the end. I took the half eaten one, though. Didn't want it to go waste :)

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I ruined the game xD haha. Nice idea, do you like Papaya? :D

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Clever! Solid work!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Haha the half-eaten ending was very clever!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

The concept just makes me giggle. A bat...looking for a papaya...protected by an army of preps. A little simplistic in design but pretty and funny.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Funny!
Sometimes the bat can touch the beavers without being caught

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Yes. I added a global variable that gives you some wiggle room. Aswell as Plums to give you more wiggleroom, as the goal of the game is to get you to the end :)

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Well done =)

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Haha. i took the half papaya - loved the reaction!
The graphics are great. The beavers looked a little like humans, though.

I would have loved for the game to be a little longer. And maybe a little more interaction from the beavers. But i can imagine that there went quite some time into those graphics :)

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Nice no Audio no history Only One Message!!! You know do a Good game this theme ruined my career xD goob job seriously

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Thank you! And thanks to everyone who writes a little message, I really appreciate it as this is my first Ludum Dare^^

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Nice game! The controls felt a bit weird at the beginning, but in the end it was pretty good :-)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

The ending choice was worth the play, very funny. Also the premise is great. Sound and a bit more difficulty would help.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Not bad not bad at all. I liked the movement system and the progression (like the arrows help the player to understand the direction). The fact that you have to click each time to make the hello world text go away is annoying.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I can't tell you why, but something about a bat looking for some delicious papaya just cracks me up like crazy. :D I wish there was a little more to do in the game, but the end is funny enough that I felt compelled to play through 3 times to see all of them.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Short and sweet. Really enjoyed it, got all 3 endings. Mechanics were simple and pretty fun. Nice work!

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Clean graphics are quite cool and look good. Jerking collision kinda ruins the experience, but overall controls and the game are very nice. I liked the humor around the theme very much!

Beside the controls I can only mention windows that I had to click to dismiss among the cons, they were distracting and unpleasant sometimes.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:36pm

good and responsive, though a little slow, controls. like the graphics too.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

It would have been a lot better with music... still, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]