December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hamsi Bro

by broepi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- Your one and only hamster bro ---

<It's like a Hamster-Gotchi>

This is my hamster. There are many hamsters like it, but this one is mine.
My hamster is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life.
My hamster, without me, is a dead useless hamster. Without my hamster, I am useless. I must care for it.
I must pick poo beans faster than it can shit, it is trying to bother me.
I must give it water before it dehydrates.

If your hamster bro dies, you need to unpack the game files again to start with another bro.

github project page: https://github.com/broepi/ludum

The whole game including the graphics und sounds was crafted exclusively with the help of free software (free as in free speech and also free beer):
* GNU C++ Compiler / Make / BinUtils
* SDL 2.0 Library
* GIMP
* Audacity
* (GNU) Linux Mint / MATE Desktop / Pluma Editor

-- broepi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Graphics3.31
#305Audio2.87
#559Mood2.67
#564Theme2.75
#710Overall2.75
#879Fun2.25
#885Innovation2.19
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Very cute and funny hamster bro! ;)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The graphics were good.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Cute hamster sprite! Not much content :(

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Sadface :(. I checked the permissions on the executable but alas...

hamsibro.sh: line 3: ./binary: cannot execute binary file

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Funny little "Tamagotchi" (Spell check required) game. Not very much to do, but my daughters love it, so now I have it running on my other monitor for as long as it lives :-)

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

really nice game mine is called bob,bro i am determined to see how long i can keep him alive i will up keep you up to date
well done

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Hi @zconnelly13
Try to execute hamsibro.sh if you have a 64bit Linux. I'm sorry, had no time to bundle a 32bit Linux version, yet :(
I'm also very thankful for each report on missing library file-complains. One GNU/Linux is not like the other ...

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Thank you all for your feedback.
Don't forget to clean your Hamsi Bro from time to time! Too much poo beanys on the screen let its health decrease faster.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Funny hamster ! :) Maybe the UI is a little bit messy, but liked it !

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

OMG it's so cute can I have the hamser? Pleeeasssseeee~

MyFrosch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:34pm

The graphics is cool :)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I love my HamsiBro! A very cute game with a lovely mainchar. A little more interaction would be cool (the ability to pet him, for example) and I would love to hear a happy background music. Good job!

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Nice! It's not everyday I click on poop! hehe

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]