December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only have one quantum hyperdimensional nuclear fusion powered neuro-AI cube...and button

by Prophet Steve - Jam Entry

The main mechanic of the game is that you have only one key that you can use at the time. You can switch to a different key by double-tapping your current key and select a different one.

As is probably clear from the game, a lot of things were very rushed, as easily happens in a jam.

However, I am glad that the major mechanics are in there, even when I haven't been able to polish everything as much as I would want to.

I have also had not any time to test the final result. So please leave a comment if there are any very serious bugs.

- Multiple key presses simultaneously may break the game, I will try and fix that ASAP.

UPDATE: The triggers at the end did not work since I accidentally left them as colliders. That has been fixed.

UPDATE: All game breaking bugs should be fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#33Theme(Jam)3.75
#75Innovation(Jam)3.46
#205Humor(Jam)2.58
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#305Audio(Jam)2.74
#383Overall(Jam)2.82
#395Graphics(Jam)2.73
#437Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

Kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice idea! Couldn't concentrate, though. Am I supposed to hold the key, or spam it?

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

A lot of actions in the game require a lot of dexterity, either you jump first and in the air switch to the right. Or while your running quickly switch to the spacebar and jump while you still have enough dexterity.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39am

Uh, while you still have enough velocity*.

Sorry, don't think I can edit a comment here.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58pm

yea a bit too skill based for me but its pretty fun over all with well fitting graphics

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Very nice mechanic!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

nice mechanics guys, really really creative :D

antila says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

I laughed when I had to swtich back to E to close the dialog. :D

darkblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12am

Buggy, Could not press e to pass the second menu screen. But I get the idea, but dislike micromanaging every move.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

Yeah, have had the same comment from somebody else. Might be that the fix broke something else. But it is unclear to me how to replicate it.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19am

Interesting! A bit frustrating on the controls though, it's a nice concept but might not work that well in execution :/.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice concept, but reeeeeally hard!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Very nice idea! Good work.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice little puzzle type game, but the lack of a scrolling background confused me at first, and the gimmick was a bit fiddly to play with. Still, I do love a good experiment.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Yeah, I agree with you. The scrolling background was a bit confusing, especially without animations. So I added the lights on top which helps migrate it a little bit. Of course a scrolling background would have been better, but sadly it wasn't meant to be.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Very original approach and interesting interpretation of the theme. It worked better than I expected, and the puzzles were nice.

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Interesting mechanic and great use of the theme, however it's not fun as it is right now

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I understand this is experimental, but I find the idea with having only one control very annoying.

van noctar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:46am

Inovate! Controls are very hard!

gene-z says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:57pm

A litros hard to controle, but Nice game

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Controls were pretty hard but I really liked the concept.

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I found myself fairly confused for a bit. When I finally started getting the hang of switching controls it started getting too difficult skill-wise. I feel like the challenge in a game like this should be more puzzle-based, but this was a very interesting approach to the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]