December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A 'Hunter, Gatherer, Whatever' Story

by Fogs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in Gamemaker Studio by Fernando "Fogs" Fogaça.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Graphics3.86
#329Theme3.18
#429Overall3.09
#505Audio2.50
#511Innovation2.90
#545Mood2.69
#630Fun2.68
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Patacorow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Game is a bit too hard, but I love the graphics and concept. Well done!

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Boomerang hitbox is a little wonky. Unclear of what to hit to kill the animals. Though when everything is clear, the game is overall fun and interesting.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Great work on the boomerang weapon; liked the style of art too.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

A nice, fun little game! It' brutally hard, though.

The graphics were extremely well done, good job! Animation looked fluid and natural.

Gameplay was quite nice, though I'm not so fond of the floaty feel to stopping and turning.

Audio could use some work, there's only a small collection of effects.

Overall, enjoyed playing and would play again :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I like the art, I kept losing my boomerang. Maybe some sort of waypoint for it would help.

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I liked it! Especially liked the realistic try on boomerang trajectories ;) I can tell you've thrown one before!

Gameplay's a tad on the hard side, and I don't see why you wouldn't always want to sprint, but its Ludum Dare, so I don't care! Hey that rhymes. Or does it? ...I don't know xD

Fogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59am

Hey, I'm releasing a v 1.2, there are a couple changes you'll like I guess.

Thanks for playing this, folks!!!

Fogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:10am

I mean 1.1!

Version 1.1 changelog
=====================
- The map is now 3x bigger
- Bulls spawn interval is a bit higher, getting shorter with level progression
- The shaman now says "But you only get one weapon!" so it's clearer.
- A waypoint is shown when the weapon is offscreen.
- More random bushes!
- Added random rocks so you'll bet irritated with your weapon being stuck (c'mon, the map is bigger now!)
- Added a little nice effect when the bulls magically turn into a beef (die).

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:12am

I agree with the comments that it's a bit too hard, but it was fun to throw the boomerang around! Found myself holding shift almost the entire time, wishing I was a bit more nimble given how hard it was.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Good graphics, simple but with a great style ! Good job !

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Very difficult to aim, bulss taking 3 hits too kill seems like a bit much. I fell happy that I killed one at least. Like the graphic in this game.

Fogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25pm

tobbez - that's related to the boomerang strenght. I'll add stronger weapons such as a javelin, but which will be harder to retrieve.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:14am

Very hard too aim, it would've needed a bit more balancing and could've been loads more fun. Still a pretty solid concept with good boomerang mechanics.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Can't play, mac

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Not a bad idea, but character movement feels a little sluggish.

insane66 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Looks great. Hard to make much progress! The collision detection could be worked out a bit. Our game has some collision issues too (we also used GMS)

DST says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:35am

Really nice! Fun and funky art!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Really nice graphics! I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Hard but addicting game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]