December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Invert

by sfiq12 - Jam Entry

Invert is a minimalistic platformer where you, the player, have to navigate through the level with the help of the only "light source", the INVERT square. You only get one of it though, so be careful when navigating through the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Innovation(Jam)3.61
#305Mood(Jam)2.80
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#383Overall(Jam)2.82
#534Theme(Jam)1.71
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I like it! doesn't stick much to the theme though.

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

@Blasmena Haha, well it's my first LD. Nevertheless, Nevertheless, I'll try to stick to the theme as close as possible in the next LD events

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41am

Nicely done. Really like the mechanic.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50am

Cool concept! Do you plan on expanding upon this game idea?

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27am

@rottenmage I don't have any plans on expanding the game but I might..

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20am

Hey, it will be great to use invert square more variously. Otherwise, it is good idea, but game is very short also.

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34pm

@the
Haha sorry about that. I came up with this idea after the Compo deadline. So I had almost no time to further add more to it before the Jam deadline.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55pm

clever mechanic; i enjoyed it. :-)

Eniko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Interesting concept, very good for a first LD! Ultimately there isn't a whole lot that you can do with the light cube, which is a bit sad.

The jumping and movement was a bit floaty and fiddly in places. Also, I'm curious why there was music on the secret screen as well as some effects that weren't in the game.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Cool concept, hope you can develop it further!

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53am

@Eniko I wanted to implement music in the main "game" but since this was a last minute thing, I didn't have time to make a better one

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Really like the look of this game, reminds me a bit of those B/W illusion. Good job for achieving this effect!

However collision was buggy :(

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:24am

@Dir3kt I tried to use layermask for collisions, bad choice though. Planning to recode the player for better

Patacorow says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very nice , But to short and maybe more puzzle.
For your fist LD this is fantastic !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]