December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Feeding Bafflements

by SketchyGalore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare!

It took me a while to come up with a way to use this theme, but I eventually came up with the thought of "You Only Get One" relating to food, which eventually turned into this little arcade puzzle shooter idea. "Bafflements" was just the name I gave the enemies temporarily while trying to find a good context, but it eventually stuck!

Unfortunately I wasn't able to get everything in I would have liked to, the most notable part being the lack of music in the game, and I would have liked to have had time to test the difficulty curves and all that. But! I did it to prove that I could actually produce something in 48 hours. It's also the first time I'm releasing anything I've made to the public, so just entering is a big step for me!

I made my game with the following tools/resources:
GameMaker Studio 1.2
GIMP
BFXR
"freepixel" font (found at dafont.com)

No pre-existing assets of my own were used beyond reference material. Source files are located inside the zip file.

A couple things to note that aren't in the in-game manual:
Full screen can be enabled/disabled with alt+enter
Game can be paused/resumed with ESC (text is somewhat buggy when transferring between game/menu and the "Start New Game" button resumes the game, only acts as a restart after game over)
Levels can be chosen with the level select button before the game starts, up to level 99... and I highly don't recommend going that high! It hurts!

Have fun and thanks for checking out my entry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Innovation3.81
#268Overall3.29
#269Graphics3.39
#436Fun2.94
#778Theme2.38
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:35pm

The fact I have got stupid computer, don't let me play even my own games from GM:Studio (that's why I use 8.0) so this don't works for me, sorry.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

That's strange... thanks for letting me know, though. GM gives me my fair share of headaches, it seems. I got it working on three systems, myself, so hopefully it isn't a wide-spread issue!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

nice little game.. it took me a while to realize what i was supposed to be doing.. i keep saying this (maybe i should read things first ;p)

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

The perspective is hard to get, I missed almost everytime. The rules are quite complicated. Other than that an pretty good game

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Not so easy to learn, but after that, yery addictive! Graphics are also nice.

Theme is good, Mood and Innovation are great!

5 for me overall, if I don't rate Audio.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

It's a very challenging but a very nice game. Just a little bit distant from the theme but feeding only one per bafflewatchamatcha's counts I guess. But it's definately original, well presented, solid gameplay. It's worth learning the rules. I was able to get to round 5 and saw an "L" can you believe it:)

Moist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49am

It takes a while to understand what's going but after you do it gets pretty fun. I like all the little effects and details, very polished.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I've put this on my todo list, I'm going to have to come back to it when I'm more awake!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]