December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tank Shooter

by MrJavaFrank - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control :
- W,A,S,D Drive
- Shoot & rotate with mouse/space

Kill all enemies! There is a little suprise at the end! Other things are explained ingame :)

Care : You Only Get One life for both worlds!

Rate the game for feedback pls :)

All Textures, Sounds und all code were made in 48 hours by myself!

Note : I just recognized that i wrote "Chrismas" instead of "Christmas"! Sorry for that mistake :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#383Fun3.02
#633Overall2.83
#657Audio2.09
#683Humor1.84
#766Mood2.36
#799Graphics2.28
#926Innovation2.09
#975Theme1.76

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:31am

looking good

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Simple and fun.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

With a bit of music and some better colours this could be a really great game. It was enjoyable enough to make me want to try and 'beat it'. Not sure how it fits the theme though.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11am

I got confused by the controls but after a while it made sense. :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11am

Cool little game

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14am

Nice little game. Everything seems to work well.

I would've wished for you to do something a bit more with the "you only get one" theme. Otherwise good job!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really enjoyed this. Simple fun tank game.

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

Pretty fun. I kept running into things (which is also what eventually killed me) and the enemy AI seems to be doing pretty well.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

The Linux download link is broken.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I think the controls could use some work, along with the graphics.

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

getting stuck on the terrain was a little annoying especially things like water, I did like how the tank drove though even if it was buggy at times.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Interesting game, very well designed. I like it!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Simple but enjoyable. Would be interesting to see how it plays with a tighter turning circle.

XmmmX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Cool game, I like the driving mechanics. As others already mentioned it is difficult to find a good connection between this game and the theme. But good job anyway.

MrJavaFrank says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I hope you read that "You Only Get One" life for both worlds (ingame) ... I just added it to my description of the game. But I wasn't very happy with the connection to the theme, too! Thanks for the feedback so far! :)

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

i really enjoyed this, i love the big level to go around in. i plan on keeping this around and finishing it.

flexl94 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Just nice, easy to play =}

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I haven't played a game like this since Jaguar for the NES. Really solid stuff. Nothing like a good ol shooter to kill time.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Would not open for me :(

xception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Game/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Game.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

It runs, but I only get 1x1 window which cannot be resized to some reasonable size :-/

MrJavaFrank says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Have you both updated Java? I'm sorry that it doesn't run on your PC :(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Fun the hitting water sound should change it sounds like you hit a wall.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Simple, but fun! Loved the dirt particle when starting the tank.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Nice game. As soon as you can earn money and upgrade stuff I'm sold. I really liked this, it was great fun!

dcampos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

It seems a very polished and quite complete game for such a short amount of time.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

The upgrades system is nice and the particles are good looking, a bit of music would be great. =)
Good game.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Fun little game. With a bit of polish it could be really good.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Nice game but I don't think that the game fits the LD theme.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08pm

You did a lot of things right here!

Most tank games, in my opinion, make the vehicle so slow that it's not fun, while yours was in between a car feel and a tank feel, which I thought was great. Slower would have been boring, and faster gets a bit too hard to control and has problems because you can't see what's coming.

Also some great little touches, such as the brake lights, and the dirt flying out the back when I get moving from a stop. I was going to say the turrets let me out-range them and gimp them all... but then later in the level the turrets did NOT have that flaw, so I realized it was a progression of difficulty choice.

Well done, I love vehicle combat games but the genre is full of pitfalls, you avoided most of them.

A few small points of feedback:

- I think skidding is what takes a vehicles "feel" over the top. Even a tank could reasonably skid on grass. It might seem hard to implement, and it depends on your logic, but I had some luck implementing skids in the past using a "traction limit" and if the "asked" traction exceeds the limit, you give them the full limit, and then only a percentage of the portion above the limit. This creates a slide when turning at big speeds that I think adds a ton of fun to any vehicle game. That's just my opinion, of course.

- I strugged to get through a few tight areas, particularly the final turret on the narrow beach.

- I think battles would have been a bit more dynamic if the map was structure a little differently. Mostly the walls created an open space, so the battle was inside walls, but no walls were inside the battle.

- Maybe it's less challenging, but I like the idea of near misses in this sort of game with leading and fast targets. What if my shell would LAND where I clicked (beyond a certain range) and have an explosion with splash damage?

Anyway, that's a lot of comments, but I wish more people did vehicle combat!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34am

A good start. With a bit more polishing, a little faster gameplay (although that's probably a matter of taste) and better sound and visuals it could become a really cool and addictive game. Having the upgrade menu in there certainly was a good idea. :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

That's some pretty fast badass tank! :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:10am

Loved how the controls felt 'tank-y' nice job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice game!
The ending was funny :D
It was quite hard sometimes, to hit the moving enemies, but once I got used to it, it was ok. The turrets can be shot from a save distance, but you probably know that already ;)
Good work! :)

Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Looks good, not sure what I was doing but got as far as the long stretch of sand. :)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:47am

This was very enjoyable! I wish there were more levels :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]