December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Extractor

by skeliton112 - Jam Entry

You control a digger in a dangerous but mineral rich area. Handle bandits and upgrade your digger to survive.

Be warned: You only have one life.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#477Mood(Jam)2.13
#484Innovation(Jam)2.21
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#502Fun(Jam)2.00
#510Overall(Jam)2.32
#532Graphics(Jam)1.79
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58am

That's ambitious ! the result is still quite interesting

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05am

nice idea but it needs a lot of polishing

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10am

Makes me think about that game, gold digger was it? I like it! Although the game seems to reset manualy on me without me knowing why :( Fun to play otherwise.

skeliton112 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

The bar at the top left runs down unless you fill it up with coal, sorry if that wasn't clear

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:12am

Seems very similar to Motherload to me. Collision is a bit frustrating.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13am

Dig dig dig and dig! I have 10 of oil! And you many of my stars! ;)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice, maybe more polishing at the end? I know we had not much time. Maybe you can continue working on this project? :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:57am

Wow, quite a lot of mechanics going on here, a lot more advanced than I first thought. Well done! A bit too ambitious maybe, as it leaves the quality a bit lacking. I was more excited about the digging than fending off bandits or crafting. But hey great game none the less!

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Big Motherload fan here, so I'd like to see more of this! I kept sticking to random block edges by the way.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Sorry, but I just felt like a crappy clone of Motherload.
Graphics were not goods, collision and controls felt "choppy" and the upgrade system is too complicated. Maybe use icons the next time?
Would have liked it more if something at the core mechanics felt fresh or creative.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Looks a bit blurred, but OK otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]