December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mono's Cruise

by grimgraybeard - Jam Entry

Mc is a small Rpg with a pirate setting. It offers different items, enemies and Mono. A very special Pirate who never loses his spirit no matter how many dangers and bugs he has to face.
My first Project at all.
To restart after death you have to press x i think.
There should be a message in the empty room, but i guess the bugs caught me again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#468Graphics(Jam)2.40
#489Fun(Jam)2.13
#539Overall(Jam)2.00
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53am

This scores really high on my it-so-absurdly-bad-its-good scale. This game is like a fever dream.

After the long long opening I wound up on a beach, where the terrible opening theme kept playing along with a new, guitar melody. After whacking some crabs with my hook, I died and ended up in an empty room with no escape.

The music and imagery still haunt me.

Congratulations on finishing your first game! Its actually pretty impressive in its scope.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36am

Some interesting ideas, but execution is lacking. Kudos on doing this all for web, though.

keksdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I liked the story of the protagonist. The graphics are basic but atmospheric. You got a lot of content and mechanics.
I am missing some indicator to show when the hook is ready again. Also I die pretty quick. Maybe you could fix the empty room after death problem so we do not have to wait for the intro to finish again?

Overall this is a great entry for Ludum Dare and I am excited to see your next project for LD29.

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Thx for the comments so far. I appreciate yout opninions and i edited the discription to show how to leave the room.
There were just to many bugs to fix them all, especially the music. But untill next time ill improve my coding.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16pm

This is a favourite, despite the buggy-ness and tedious wandering about/dying - managed to fit a lot into it and I love the art and crazy music!

ketzer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31pm

good stuff: funny intro, smooth music, graphics and animations(especially the Clam!), explorative/combat gameplay and the hero itself and good amount of playable content.

bad stuff: goldcoins invisible on sand,textboxes of npc are map static, no hit-feedback made last boss impossible for me(not sure where he took damage) and the fact that i cant use my hook when i didnt collect the bird after shooting was quite annoying.

Overall great work for your 1st gamejam, keep it up!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:03am

Great job for a first time! I love the exploration and the general concept. The humor really made me laugh and the game has a good amount of content already. Unofortunately, the bugs ruin it a little. Had to turn down the volume because of the intro-music-bug. Also, I couldn't finish the game, because after the guy gave me the pistol and I fired one shot, he didn't refill it. I therefor call him a traitor and make him walk the plank! Nontheless, I see a hell lot of potential here, keep up the good work!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Very nice job to be the first proyect! I like the character art, keep the good work!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The initial "wall of text" is pretty boring. Can it be skipped?

van noctar says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:17am

Graphics are cool! Perfects 2D collisions! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]