December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

soulmate

by syl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try to save your soulmate ! You never ever found it, but hey who knows what life can get to you...

If you cant click and run jar file:
There is also http://www.sylvain-grialou.name/ld28syl.zip containing an exe made with launch4j if jar does not launch and http://www.sylvain-grialou.name/ld28syl-JRE-included.zip if you dont have Java runtime installed at all.

Possible html5 version, but it's not ready yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#528Humor2.17
#657Audio2.09
#664Theme2.58
#766Mood2.36
#892Fun2.19
#908Graphics2.00
#955Overall2.27
#974Innovation1.88

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

This seems like a great start! I'd love a double jump. And it wasn't completely intuitive that the little candy-corn looking things were dangerous, haha. But the music was awesome and the jump sound was great. I'd really love to see this with some more levels!

Also the "web" link seems to be broken, but the download worked just fine.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

A bit on the short side. I like that you went into all aspects of development though, from graphics to sound. Would be cool to see more mechanics.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Nice and happy hearts. At first thought the spikes where candies, lol.

Parasyte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

Control seems a bit "floaty". I think if you cranked up the friction a bit, it would feel a little more solid in that aspect. I really dig the happy mood, though.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

I was not expecting the candy corn to hurt me :(. Also I don't like sliding in platformers.

However, as others have said, you did a lot of different aspects with this game and it came out a lot better as a result.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

A great start. Pity you didn't get in some sort of final boss. But tighten up the controls and there is the start of a solid platformer.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Cute way to implement the theme! The very first thing I did was run into what I thought was candy corn and got hurt (I liked the invincibility mode on that), so that was a bit misleading. I really liked the shaking effect the screen did when I was low on health.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I like how you used the theme there :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I like the way you gave emotional meaning to the theme.
Should I have earned a weapon?

lucasncv says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:47pm

A bit too short and yet pretty complete. Well done.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:56pm

As others have said, the floaty controls were a bit unexpected since platformers usually have more tight controls. But unlike the others, I think it would be more interesting if you found a way to make the sliding part of the game. Since this is a heart it would be funny if it rolled to a stop when on the ground.

Also, the screen shaking when on the last bit of health (while very interesting visually) is just adding insult to injury. Kicking people when they're down only works if you've set up the mood to have it be expected.

Halfire says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Nice Platformer! Needed a little bit more length to it though.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Well, that was short.. But I think cotrols feel allright ;-)

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Great job!

JavadocMD says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I liked the "earthquake" effect. Perhaps if it were less severe it would feel less like "kicking you when you're down" and more just adding to the tension.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Congratulations for making a game in 48 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]