Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wilhelm's Escape - glovecat - Jam Entry

Wilhelm has woken up and he doesn't know where he is...
He has to get out of there!

- Wilhelm can get only one object at a time. He woke up with a coin.

- Click over a scenery object in order to let Wilhelm use the object in his hand with it.

- Click over the object in Wilhelm's hand (left down corner) to use the object over himself.

View glovecat's journal. | View all entries by glovecat

Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Graphics(Jam)4.44
#34Humor(Jam)3.74
#47Theme(Jam)3.64
#48Audio(Jam)3.73
#57Mood(Jam)3.67
#62Overall(Jam)3.70
#86Fun(Jam)3.43
#248Innovation(Jam)2.90

Comments

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29am

Superb! Keep up the good work!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Very good graphics!!!!! Movements and actions are very incredible!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36am

I cant loaded

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Hmm, I clicked the Web link, but it didn't take me to the game.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Couldn't play because 'my browser doesn't support web GL'.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43am

Thanks for your comments!
Try to download the desktop version, please.
Which browser are you using?

LTPATS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

This was fun to play! I'm assuming there are no endings that involve him not dying (unless I just couldn't figure it out)?

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

I wasn't able to figure out how to win, if its possible. I think I tried all of the combinations.

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Gotta' love that Wilhelm scream. I died in new and interesting ways. Also, I think "misterious" should be "mysterious." Good game though, very funny.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

such a polished game!
Is there a walkthough? i get very far but still die every thing i try.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Ok I give up. Is there a way out?

ydg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11am

Wasn't able to go beyond the sex shop card. Great game anyways!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

yep, couldnt find a way to win either. oh well, great game!

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very impressive work! The audio, graphics, writing, and mood were all superb. I died and died and died and laughed each time I found a new way to die. Frustration never felt so good.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

Nicely done (:

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Really well done, couldn't figure out if there is a way to win though or if you only get to keep dieing in different ways

ismyhc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great graphics!

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Many thanks to all for playing! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:22am

Really good job. Nice to see to the glovecat here, i laugh so much with some deaths, nice concept and go perfect with the theme. Good job guys :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:29am

Aww yeah!
click n play!
Nice job and pretty pixels..

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very nicely put together. Good to see a nice point'n'click game on LD too <3

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Oh, Wilhelm. I'm honestly surprised you made it to adulthood at this rate.

A very nicely put together game. I got quite a few different endings including opening the door but not making it out. I guess maybe it just wasn't meant to be. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Wow, this was great. Loved the style of the game, the graphics, good sound.
The voice acting was clever too. English subtitles, but a voice that conveyed the meaning in a universal way (especially the screams).
One of the best games I've seen so far (for me).

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32pm

But annoyed that I still havn't solved it :)

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Great concept, I thoroughly enjoyed it! Got to the sex shop card as well and opened the door. Can you actually escape? Please please tell me :)

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Haha great game. One of the best entries I have seen so far. Awesome graphics and mood. Very funny too! Very polished. Great solution to turn off the lights in order not to have to animate those death scenes.

I liked how random everything was, but on the other hand it was also the problem with the game. There was hardly any logic involved. Only some actions were logical, most wasn't. For instance: getting a lever with a soda can? :P right xD

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Great game guys, amazing idea, and I love the humor! :D

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Thank you for all you comments guys :P

Gamelabbers: poisoned soda! have you tried to drink it? maybe the "poison" is an acid... maybe!

Thank you for playing! Will Wilhelm escape???!!?!?

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Fantastic game. Very well polished!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Nice puzzles, great art and extremely polished ; this doesn't look like a jam game at all. Being an old fan of point & click adventures I had a great time playing this game.

I can't think of any issue to point out, an extended version would be awesome.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:11am

Really fun point and click game. I tried fiddling with all the stuff I could find and died so many times. He also refused to eat the coin, noting that he isn't a piggy bank. That was amusing.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:09am

Freakin' awesome. Really polished for an LD entry.
I really like how it differs from your typical point and click game puzzle in the sheer number of possible ways to fail. It's kind of surprising that more p n' c games don't do that.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00am

Dying never felt so good! XD
Is there even a way out?

[The web version didn't work for me btw.]

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:27am

Thaank you!

Diptoman: Which browser are you using??

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04pm

It's not all logical, but still fun to play because of all the animations.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Great looking art and animation!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great production values! Very frustrating though. Soda with lever? :D

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Graficos espectaculares, sonido increible, desarrollo sensacional, te hace pensar y reirte al mismo tiempo. Es retante y es absolutamente genial. Como punto negativo, que no tenga final "bueno". Teneis mis dieces ;-)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Amazing graphics done in a weekend! The atmosphere is great.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

This game is great!
The graphics look awesome and the mood is set really good!
It is fun to play, but you are so cruel, not telling us, if there is a ending, where you survive...
Great work! :)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:50am

Very nice graphics and atmosphere. The game is really interesting, but it does become tedious after a few deaths. Like others here, I am wondering if there is a good ending :D

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16am

Really like the art and presentation in this game. Top grade stuff!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:59am

Really nice game! I don't know what to do after getting sex shop card.

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice graphic and mood, great entry.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

It's an adventure game! With grizzy deaths! And great sound! Excellent :D

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Great to see a traditional point'n'click in LD, even if I completely fail at it :D

Webravenz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:22pm

nice animation and design work ! didnt find how to win neither .... :p

the says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Gun or cup? - good problem.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:39pm

That is a magnificent art and a very nice story. LOVE THIS GAME!!!

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:34pm

This is probably the game I spent the most time with up to now. I killed Wilhelm every possible way, I think. This game looks to amazing and is so much fun. I will not continue before I know if there is any way at all, though. cannot find any further possibilities...

If this were a 48h entry and not jam, I'd probably cheat and check the source ;-)

Keep up the good work!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:19pm

AMAZING graphics main. congratulations!

Halfire says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44am

Fantastic entry, loved the art style and the animations, Wilhelm scream got a little repetitive but i guess that's the point :P
Seriously cool, very witty.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:50am

Poor Wilhelm... Great array of options, amazing art and hilarious experience. Great take on the theme, great job.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Quite fun. A bit confused at the start because there were two ways to start out, with the ball machine and the soda vending machine. I ended up fixating on the ball machine instead of the other, and spent a long time trying out all the combinations instead of choosing the soda machine first. Still, really good, love the graphics and the audio.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Seriously, this is one accomplished entry! Spent an awful long time getting a great many screams from poor Wil, but I am too dumb to save him. The mood with that rain and wind is superlative, incredible animations and a lot of humour in there - reminded me of a cross between Monkey Island and Saw ;) Excellent work!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Surreal nonsense (good), well presented.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Amazing visuals, great atmosphere, and fun gameplay! Excellent job!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great use of the titular scream! =D Solid little escape-the-room - with lots of fatal consequences! Love the art, accompanied with a very warm and welcoming palette! Nice work for three days!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very nicely drawn and animated, though the gameplay felt like hitting my head against a brick wall.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:41am

The concept is crazy-good! And the graphics, wow-wee!
I love it :)

tnerb says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Tough little point'n click
It's a lot of fun

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:33am

Hahaha, been meaning to try this and just spent the last hour trying to get Wilhelm killed in a ton of ways. Wow, fantastic work, especially with the art and the sound design! Point and click is a real breath of fresh air in this jam! (Also loved that the use of the Wilhelm scream! Never fails to make me laugh!)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:16am

I love the old school adventure game vibe from this. It is even better than those old games since it is not long enough to get frustrating.

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:07am

I only get one free fall lol.
Love the art style, good job!! :D

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:49am

Haha, good for a nice laugh, I guess.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:54pm

haha nice this is an instant favorite

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Great! Awesome graphics, sound, humor ("no time for sex" really made me laugh). The progression was a little illogical although some of the steps on the way to the sex card were intuitive. I think I explored all the deaths. The main downside for this game was that I'm now worried it's impossible to actually escape, which makes me not want to continue exploring...

Xavier says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Great job! Awesome graphics and atmosphere.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Great humor! I loved the various ways for our hero to die!
Atmosphere is well rendered with dog barking outside, rain falling und thunder claps! Graphics are nice too.
Must go back to help Wil to escape that room!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

This is brilliant! I've lost count of all the different ways I've died now XD.

Congratulations! :)

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I man, I loved this game. It's a cool style and good graphics.

Dohan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

This game is awesome! But... is there a solution or does every path lead to Wilhelm's Scream?

Split82 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

I love the mood, but the gameplay is just random trial and error.

drentsoft says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I liked the visuals and mood.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This game contains *everything* that is wrong with adventure games, amplified tenfold:

* Completely illogical "try everything on everything" puzzles.
* On the most obvious and logical actions, just a shrug, without any explanation why it doesn't work.
* Unskippable, boring animations all the time.
* Graphics that don't let you even see what is what.
* Having to go from the start because you made some mistake.

Then again, one still wants to know what happens...

Very nice ambient sounds.

ACE says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:28am

i love a good point and click and this was hard nice job

anvoz says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

Awesome game. Everything is really impressive.

I haven't solved it yet.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Very difficult to find the way out, we got stuck with the card. Woderful.

henrykun says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I love it! this is one of my favorite genres in videogames. Well done, nice graphics and sounds too.

Ako says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:09am

Great art! Funny and tricky! Wonderful entry!

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Great production (audio, graphics, control, animation... superb) but poor game design (try everything, and die). I got bored pretty fast on a otherwise promising game.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Never got to figuring out how to escape, if it indeed was possible but enjoyed all the gruesome failures that came my way. Really nice little point and click!

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Fantastic Game!

Aaants says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Really great work - the graphics in particular

gustavodort says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I loved this :D

postmodestie says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:05am

good looking, bad behaving ;) reminds me of the nonsense of Monkey Island 2, despite everyone loving it :D

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Awesome graphics, well done!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:08am

Strega:
Awesome game! Very complete and polished feeling. I tried to finish the game, but everything killed me. I got the sex card item, but I had no idea what to do with it. Is it possible to escape?

(This is a team account)

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Awesome game. It looks and feels complete. The only thing I miss, is a way to escape. I tried every combination I can think of, but had no luck, so I must have overlooked something or there is no way to get out alive.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:40pm

The graphics are excellent, the animation is outstanding, and I love the audio: perfect and very atmospheric. Once I realised what the scream was, I laughed out loud. The blackout death scenes appealed to my sense of humour, and I love the death messages.

It would have been nice to have more commands (such as interacting with things without using an object), but that might be a lot to ask given the time frame.

Unfortunately, some of the puzzles are very unintuitive. This bugs me because 1) it makes the game needlessly hard, and 2) I'm a big fan of adventure games, and I get annoyed when non-fans wrongly characterise adventure games as "just a bunch of nonsensical object puzzles". Good adventure games have puzzles that make sense. Some of the puzzles here make sense, but others I just don't get (for example, how you get the lever).

Also, I found several typoes and grammar problems (for example, "misterious" should be "mysterious"). Using an English-speaking proofreader might be a good idea in the future.

Those nitpicks aside, this is a very polished and hilarious entry.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Also, giving the player several different places to use an item (for example the coin) and getting stuck if choosing the wrong one is kind of cruel, but every replay is short enough that it's not a big problem.

Articulated says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice entry! Good graphics, atmospheric sound, and a fun play on the Wilhelm Scream :)

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:33am

Very cool entry!
Good graphics, sfxs and very funny deaths!
Good job!

glovecat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:48am

Thank you for all your opinions and criticism :)

@Christina Nordlander You're right about the grammar mistakes. After 3 days of non-stopping work, our english skills becomes poor :P

I disagree with this: "I get annoyed when non-fans wrongly characterise adventure games as "just a bunch of nonsensical object puzzles"". We're big fans of adventure games, we've played Monkey Island, Indiana Jones and the last crusade, Indiana Jones and the fate of Atlantis, Simon The Sorcerer, Grim Fandango, Day of the Tentacle, Sam & Max (new and old versions)... Maybe that soda + lever combination is unintuitive,ok, but the game is not a succession of non-sense actions!

Thank you for your extended and specific opinion :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:58am

Oh, I think you may have misunderstood me. I didn't mean that you guys aren't fans of the genre (it's very clear that you are, or you wouldn't have made this kind of game). I just meant that point-and-click adventures with silly puzzles play into the misconception that all point-and-click adventures are like that.

For the record, I think LucasArts games are examples of adventure games with excellent puzzles. They may be weird puzzles that would never occur in the real world, but 90% of them are still possible to figure out through logic and the hints provided in the game.

For the record, I didn't think all the puzzles in this game are illogical. The place where you use the screwdriver, for example, is very easy to figure out and just generally intuitive.

Also, I certainly don't want to seem like I hated the game. It's one of the best entries I've played this LD in terms of graphics, animation, audio, mood and humour. And I'm just a sucker for point-and-click adventures.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Cool graphics and sound. Nice animations.
I didn't have a clue what to do to progress in this game. All actions lead to instant death. A little bit too frustrating.

LatFoued says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Very well done, although i dont know if there is a real ending but some decisions are not that logic (soda cane with lever ? xD) but very nice concept, graphics and gameplay. Good job

Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Love it, Wilhelm scream, very clever :D Nice idea, a little frustrating with all the deaths but a very nice and simple game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]