December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pick Up Sticks

by Rikkter Games - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare entry! It was really fun making this game and we hope you like it! Though the controls isn't what we would like them to be we plan on fixing that later to come but didn't have time to do it during the jam. We also had 6 other levels drawn out but felt, and were correct, that we wouldn't have enough time to make them and work on some other core features of the game. We do hope to add these new levels later on in the future and just make this game a lot better in general because we really enjoy it.

The way this fits into the theme is that you only have one chance (in that playthrough) to get your score on a level. Once you finish the level (by stepping on the flag block) that score is locked in. You also only have one chance to pick up the sticks, if you die and they're destroyed you can't get those back which will hurt your score.

For the Widows version I recommend you play it in windowed mode and with the resolution either at 1152X648 or higher. If you can't do that just play the web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Audio(Jam)2.81
#288Humor(Jam)2.27
#366Fun(Jam)2.61
#446Innovation(Jam)2.33
#451Overall(Jam)2.59
#456Mood(Jam)2.28
#490Theme(Jam)2.05
#527Graphics(Jam)1.86
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

The level design fits really well with the mechanics you've got here. The jump felt a little strange though, as there was no acceleration.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

I couldn't get past the block that was supposed to "end the level". The jumping and moving need work for sure.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41am

Good job with the camera work and level design. While the game doesn't look or feel super extremely juicy/amazing, you made sure to make the next step always visible and clear. Stopped at level 7 because rage. !

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

good submission :). @danman You have to jump "INTO" the finish level block for it to work, FYI.

severus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

I don't like the jumping

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

I also got stuck at the jump into bit, but I really liked the audio and camera as well!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Pretty nice concept and generally well executed, but the jumping could do with work. Loved the music!

Udell Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Jumping feels awful and I couldn't get over the very first obstacle. Jump physically would not go high enough regardless of holding down or lightly pressing jump. Held off rating as this is assumably an error (could be you're not taking into account FPS?)

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:27pm

It was a bit weird to have it say that it is best played with a controller and then have use space to jump and not being able to proceed to the next level without using a mouse.

Rikkter Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Prophet Steve you jump with y (if you're using a 360 controller)

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:23am

I'll echo something others have already said: the jumping feels off. The character falls too fast, and if I hit my character's head but keep sliding, he'll continue the jump as though he didn't hit anything.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

Torture-like game, but OK I guess...

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Very interesting level design. But I don't catch the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]