December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Prime

by Satyre - Jam Entry

After the Big Bang you are responsible for the wealth of the planet Earth. Choose your upgrades to lead mankind to glory by increasing productivity, technology and population to the max, while reducing the pollution to a minimum. Be the fastest strategist and discover the truth about your planet.

You play the game with the mouse only and choose your upgrades.

Important: Every upgrade costs 5% of your productivity,


It was made with Stencyl 3.0, Photoshop CS3 and Fruity Loops 9 for the Jam in 12 hours.

Enjoy saving the planet ;)

--

The theme in this game is to think about a way to save your planet, cause there is no way in real life to simulate the influences of pollution perfectly, so you only have one chance to save it, otherwise you / we all lose ;)

--

Thanks for all your Feedback so far, you are great!

Play the Newgrounds version to see the changes of your feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#230Audio(Jam)3.01
#283Graphics(Jam)3.16
#295Innovation(Jam)2.77
#335Mood(Jam)2.72
#414Humor(Jam)1.76
#449Theme(Jam)2.22
#451Overall(Jam)2.59
#491Fun(Jam)2.12

Comments

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

Can't the the theme here. Graphics are nice. Clicked on the buttons a lot but nothing happens.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

population keeps growing by 0.128, no matter what the multiplier is.

Satyre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

Hey thanks for the feedback. The theme in this case was meant to be one earth, where get one chance to save the planet. For the conrtols, I couldnt create a better help and visual feedback in that short time, but you can click or upgrade only when your resource (productivity) is higher than 5%.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Very creative idea, but as far as implementation goes I have no idea how to play. I can see you control things with the mouse, but I don't seem to get any feedback from pressing anything. I'm just a bit confused how the game plays.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53pm

test sucessful completed in 123 s, nice! :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Cool game. Wasn't really that fun in the end though. Very numbery.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

So I think I beat the game "Test succesful in 69 seconds?" It caught me by surprise :P - Apart from that, I liked the idea, simple, and although not very well explained, I understood the concept fairly fast. The graphics was very nice, and I liked your intro.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Interesting idea, but a tutorial? As a general rule I love this kind of game :) Nice graphics for the earth by the way! :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Great job! 94s

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Awesome!
Controls is unclear, but awesome!

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

very nice game!

cobhc6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Completed in 96s, nice game!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice idea! I like the graphics and the music.
After winning, I realized, there was a help screen :D I think it is quite intuitive, though.
Some more options and a longer duration would have been nice.
Cool game ;)

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I beat the game, but only worked out how the mechanics work by reading the comments.

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I think that its not about this theme, but overall it's a nice game!thank you!

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Tough one to judge: I really like the graphics and music, but due to the lack of feedback (even just graying out buttons would have helped) I don't really feel like I have an influence on whats happening.

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Lovely! Though I wasn't particularly swift, I did it without pollution. I would have opted for leading zeros (and trailing after the dot) for all the values so that the text stays in place.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Fun gameplay and concept. Pollution and population seem to randomly drop to 0 sometimes, and population doesn't seem to be important for the win condition, only tech. 62 seconds! Good game!

Jojo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice game, but I didn't feel like I the buttons I pressed had much impact. Won it by pressing the technology button repeatedly. However, I like the idea and I think with a bit more polish on the mechanics this could be a nice game. I really like the graphics and I how the earth changes when you get more technology.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Where is the source?

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice concept, though it's a bit limited as it stands now. It seems like all you have to do is take technology as the first upgrade, then pollution drops to 0 and never increases again. More feedback in the UI would have been nice too, it's confusing at first.

ViliX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

It was a nice idea.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Had to read the description below the game to understand the mechanics. A bit distant from the theme. Nice Soundtrack, interesting graphics, but the interface needs to be more responsive.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I saved the world! Music is very nice and ambient, could do with a little bit more variation... although for 12 hours, pretty impressive :D user interface is very clear, and the help function got me to scratch my head (in a good way!) You know... trying to fight the urge to bash buttons at random till I win, very nice.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great tech here. Gameplay is not engaging, but I think you have a winning idea here, there's not enough Sim Earth games out there.So keep working for a postcompo build with better gameplay. You must think about action and feedback, you press a button, something happens SNAP, out loud. Maybe you can use the idea of build monoliths or other divine items like UFOs, arks, that influence the population. Population should grow automatically, so technology and pollution, but with those items the scientist would influence the destiny of earth indirectly.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I like the concept, but it's not really fun or interesting enough to keep you in there - maybe either make the multipliers bigger (so game progresses faster) or have a bit more that you can put input into?

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:45pm

It looks nice, I liked the effects for zooming in and out on the earth. Like a few others said I found it a bit unclear; the first game I just tapped technology up a few times and won in a few seconds, but the second time I couldn't get anything to happen.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Pretty great job for 12 hours! I would consider adding more visual feedback so players know what happens when they click, stuff like that.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17pm

While not exactly fitting with the jam, the graphics and music are amazingly well done and the gameplay is very straight forward with a bit of strategy added in. Brilliant job!

darkblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Would have been great if we could compare our score to the score of other players.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

Interesting idea, it's rather fun :)
It reminds me of one of my old games, except better! Sweet-as bro!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

Awesome music. More instructions would be better I guess.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41pm

When I get the mechanics right I really enjoyed this game. Yet it still a little bit short for me but still cool. Music is great and moody. :)

Tanner says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice music.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Spammed tech+ and got success after 70s, so not that much to the gameplay. Seeing the planet change was a nice touch.

Shigor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:07am

Not much of a gameplay, too simplistic and easy (after realizing what I'm doing, it would be nice to give some negative feedback when you can't push the button).
Full power to the audio!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:34am

Nice idea!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The subtle changes in the planet and the moon were nice, and the soundtrack's great!
I couldn't see any use for population, though. Kept spamming production and then technology, got 63s.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:24am

What a really cool idea! Simple yet effective. My first game I was trying to understand what to do... didn't read the help. was successful in 164s. I read the help, played again and won in 60s.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice idea for the theme. Could have used more feedback on button presses - as you know, and piling everything into tech seemed to work okay.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:55pm

A nice game, but those buttons really need some feedback. Good graphics and audio!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:57pm

A good game management!

Satyre says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:00am

The game has been updated on newgrouds with all your feedback (See the link above). Thanks guys :)

The original one for the LD is on Stencyl.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]