December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dumb Waiter

by KamikaziUk - Jam Entry

You are a waiter who is one accident away from being fired. You have one trip to collect as many plates and tips as possible and make it back to the kitchen, navigating tables, avoiding hazards whilst trying not to drop your ever increasing stack of crockery.

Video:
http://youtu.be/btXrLcpXBg4

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Left/Right Click - Leaning
E - Collect Items from Tables

Pickup items from the table and go towards the kitchen (the fire) to deliver them safely.

Coder: Marty Green - www.marty-green.co.uk
Designer: Alex Partridge - www.alexpartridge.co.uk

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#27Innovation(Jam)3.77
#54Humor(Jam)3.55
#169Mood(Jam)3.22
#174Graphics(Jam)3.58
#174Overall(Jam)3.29
#207Audio(Jam)3.07
#228Fun(Jam)2.97
#294Theme(Jam)2.68

Comments

hroon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Very very cool idea! Its like QUOP was hired as a waiter! Sometimes I couldn't pick up anything anymore without restarting. This will be so much fun with the bugs ironed out! My favorite entry so far! :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Lols, reminds me of a surgeon simulator type of game.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Difficult to play on a laptop mouse! But everything else - wow, great art direction and jazzy sound track :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42am

Stunned that you did 3d in the time constraint. Superb polish for the graphics and music.

Unfortunately the physics are wonky when trying to put the items onto the tray. Seems there's no way to save things from dropping off your tray when you press E to collect them. And the quick time event for tapping the mouse buttons was a bit annoying.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

Really nifty idea. Good job. :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23am

Apparently I'd be a terrible waiter!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12am

That's fun and good looking game. I like mouse controls!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Cool game :) the leaning are very tough to manage when you just add plate, tricky and really fun game :)

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Um, unless I'm doing something wrong, this is extremely hard! :) Nice graphics and music, and original concept, but the gameplay or physics seem pretty buggy? I can barely ever keep anything on my tray.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Good concept, good mood ! Just a bit too difficult at the beginning but, but that's original experience !

Rothens says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

cool idea :)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Dude, even the name was hilarious, I knew I could expect great things as soon as I saw this. Feels a bit Tony Hawksy. But in a whole different setting.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Interesting game it had a very interesting asthetic and had great music. Well done.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice game, It was so different and just the style is great nice job.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:32am

Very funny idea. It seems really easy to tip your tray but its not frustrating. Good use of the theme!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Seriously?! This game is funny as hell, I couldn't manage to get more than 6 pieces of crockery, but still really fun none the less. Some plate smashing sounds would make it just hilarious!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The graphics fit the very entertaining and well done gameplay perfectly. Good job!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

overambitious, Great Idea! but not finished

dudsen says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I love the concept, but it's reeeeally hard to manage the balancing of the plates. Didn't make it once to collect all the dishes :(
A Strange bug before every run: after walking a few steps to the first table, the character started spinning himself on a random axis, leaving me upside down with my head on the floor. While this happened, I was asked to left/right click like 5-8 times. After that everything went back to normal with my feet on the floor. Happened before every run ("party"-level). Funny though :D

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:56pm

This game had me in stitches for all the wrong reasons. Its like surgeon simulator in which your only instrument is a shovel, and things you have to remove don't apply to the laws of gravity. Im not sure I understood why the waiter kept falling over but overall I was entertained.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:12am

Kinda buggy, great job on 3d in short time. You only get on accident is a different use of the theme than the other games on here good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]