December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Blind

by Mandala - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Color Blind

You are Rod and can only see in grayscale. You must travel this etheric space and find the cones so you can see colors. The catch is you can only see one color at a time.

There should be an executable that will click and run now called ColorBlind.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#746Innovation2.50
#783Theme2.37
#981Graphics1.50
#998Overall1.95
#998Fun1.58
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:14am

Corrupted file, could you host it somewhere else?

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

Wasn't able to download it

Mandala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Did it not download or is it just not unzipping?

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Did not download

Mandala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Okay I changed the site hope it works now.
Heres the other link as well http://www.filedropper.com/ld28

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

I got it now on your new site though

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

I kept on jumping/flying forever, very buggy game. The idea was good though

Mandala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

Hmm. It seems to work fine on my end. Thanks for the Play though.

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

I couldnt run it, but it looks nice though.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

It was buggy but it did play.

Mandala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

What kind of bugs?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23am

I like the idea on paper. When I jump I just float up into the sky and land quite a long time later, which is frustrating. Potential to be interesting.

Mandala says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08am

Okay I think I fixed the problem and uploaded the new link. Let me know if its still doing the floating thing. Thanks

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

I'm not sure if the game is buggy, or what... I jump and there's nothing but white and there's no way to tell if I'm falling or if I landed on something I can't see.

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52am

I seem to have the same issue. I hit jump and this happens:

http://ss.iarke.us/201312/15235152152.png

I move up, and keep moving up, and I just keep moving up into the white unknown.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I am experiencing the same jumpy bug as those guys.

Mandala says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Wow so i fixed the bug and uploaded the wrong file. I hope people still have the problem but they shouldnt. I uploaded the new file so hopefully the problems fixed.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06am

I'm not having any problems with the game myself, but I don't know what it was like before. Very innovative, nice game.

jongtao says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:44am

"openal32.dll" was missing. After putting a copy of that dll in the same directory, it threw another error saying it couldn't start. I'm on a pretty standard Win7 machine.

Mandala says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02am

Man I can't believe I keep missing stupid stuff like that. I reuploaded it with the openal32.dll should work now.

Lythom says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09am

There is no "ColorBlindRun.exe" as stated in the readme file, and the run.exe show and stuck on a pig with pink hearts rotating. It doesn't look like your game :s

elcow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18am

I keep falling though the floor when almost whenever I land from a jump.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25am

Could you upload it somewhere else?

1fichier is good ^^

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22am

Yeah, I am only getting a pink pig with rotating hearts. Haha. Really cute though, even if it is unrelated. :P

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11am

Dear Mandala Could you upload it somewhere else? I'm suggest to use Dropbox to upload file :D

timtipgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50am

"You will have to drag and drop the ColorBlindRun.zip onto the run executable file." that's the important information to get the thing run :)
Unfortunately that doesn't help too much as the collision detection seems to be broken. As soon as I jump once any subsequent collision won't be detected. So you will just fall through everything as soon as you jumped once. I don't think that's intended, right?

Mandala says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Okay I reuploaded(again) with a dropbox file. I tweaked the collision a bit so maybe it will work now but it seemed to be fine before. Thanks for the feedback everyone.

Mandala says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:58pm

O and there should be an executable that works now as well. ColorBlind.exe

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The .exe doesn't works for me. =/

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:21pm

The idea was nice, but it do not seem to work well, without touching anything i keep bouncing on the floor, and if i go forward when i jump i just fall through the floor :/
(maybe it come from my computer ?)

I do not vote yet and hope to see a fixed version before the end! Good luck with it! That's really an interesting idea :)

sam1373 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:55am

I got to the red cone, but pressing "1" didn't do anything.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

When I jump to platform sometimes character fall under platform :/
But, without this, good idea and game ;)

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:25am

Endless bouncing, jumping tends to make me fall through the floor, and when I reached the red cone and pressed "1", nothing happened. The idea sounded cool, but it just doesn't seem to be executed well enough.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]