December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One-legged man

by longloaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: UP, LEFT, RIGHT, Z, X
Tools: Flixel (v2.55), FlashDevelop, Inkscape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Theme3.94
#110Humor3.38
#197Fun3.35
#303Innovation3.20
#379Overall3.16
#559Mood2.67
#733Graphics2.45
#775Audio1.33

Comments

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

This was awesome. I laughed so much... I'm a bad person

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

High ratings from me, You only get one leg, made me laugh :D

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07am

I didnt find this very funny but I don't know if it should be^^. But the game manages to make you feel like you are handycapped. Very nice job on that.

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

The idea... You're crazy :D

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35am

I love your game ! The feeling when moving the avatar is amazing :)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36am

Controls are sluggish, but I believe this is somewhat the point :)? Difficulty progression was quite good, I liked how falling blocks are introduced right in the beginning. Some audio would have been nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37am

Haha. Hilarious. Would be even more so with a little hopping sound. Hup hup hup hup hup

Simple graphics but they do the trick.

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

Interesting take on the theme. I think the hardest part for me was getting up that damn staircase, though I suppose thats appropriate. Well done

Killswitch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

Good stuff. It frustrates me that I can't do more than one action at the same time.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42am

Excellent game, I love it! Great Idea and funny to play!

Pyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very nice game. So simple yet so fun.

ShinSH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Very good idea to use the theme.

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Best theme interpretation!

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

ok, I don't you'll be beaten on humour, at least from my point of view.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

LOL :D awesome i like it

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

[mandatory] I guess he is on his last leg. I really like your primitives based art style. The pacing is interesting requiring patience and precision. I wonder how this guy happened to find himself in a dungeon with one leg anyways? ... I think you should rename this game "Last Leg".

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32pm

The entire one leg thing was great xD

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Very good use of the theme! The gameplay was just right! Too bad it was kind of short. (not for LD though). Great job, man!!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04am

The length was about perfect for an LD entry. Long enough to get a feel for it, short enough to play quickly and rate other games. Good level design and progression.

A little bit of sound would have gone a long way, and it would have been nice to turn "attack OR jump OR move, you only get one" from a frustrating limitation into "just part of the game".

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Looks very promising, love the falling blocks. I couldn't jump in a direction which means I haven't been able to cross the gap, maybe check your keydown and events and for setting up and right/left to true at the same time or something (I had this problem before).

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Awesome xD It's soooo slow paced but that's half the fun sometimes xDD

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I like the concept, though I felt it was too slow. The level design is very cool, especially for the first two levels.
Well done!

Anoarith says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Awesome use of the Theme. I'm stuck because I don't get how to beat the black skeleton though.

rezzish says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:02am

Yes, awkward controls game. Well done!

bowlercaptain says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:06am

The black skeleton was really difficult - up to that point, it had been about preplanning your motions pretty meticulously, but once that was replaced with a challenge of reaction time with so much delay on the controls, the difficulty curve turned vertical. Cool concept - the controls definitely make you feel physically disabled.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Loved it. Super fun.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:42am

i thought this was a really cool take on the theme. it was funny without even trying to be, which i really liked.

the level where there are two caged monsters could have been designed a bit differently. i was able to kill the monster on the left through the bars before flipping the switch.

overall great entry!

Alink says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Funny take on the theme. Also good because games rarely focus in handicap. BTW the thrower was very hard.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:54pm

The range of the sword seem a bit shorter than than it looks. Like that the game has a boss would be nice with some more advanced levels.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Haha crazy idea! ;D
Good humor and fun! I like it! :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Excellent use of theme and really neat mechanic. I really wanted to have that other leg though.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:45pm

i liked it very much. it is a good idea, & very well done game for such a short time period.
i feel bad for laughing ^ v ^

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Really neat idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]