December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOLO Simulator 2014

by EncryptedCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOLO Simulator 2014 is a game where you must find a balance between work and living life. Different actions will affect your Money, Health, and Happiness in different ways. If your health or happiness reaches 0, you will die a premature death. If you manage to keep balance, you will live to a nice age and die happily.

Controls:
- Mouse to click buttons
- R to reset at any time

I used Construct 2 for the engine, and Paint.NET for graphics. Enjoy :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#219Humor3.00
#498Theme2.86
#668Innovation2.64
#872Fun2.27
#909Mood1.87
#922Overall2.41
#934Graphics1.91
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

lol awesome

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Haha, nice idea!

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I died of natural causes at 95, not a bad innings!

Interesting concept, not quite sure where the theme comes into it.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Really original Idea, the game is a bit too easy though.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice idea, but the game is a bit easy. I died of natural causes on the second try. Also, I don't think work increases you health. You might want to add "Work out" or something, costs money and happiness but adds health. Also, work should reduce health.

Had fun though.

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

It was fun, but the theme didn't work very well with it. Thanks for the game Obama-Definitely not a potato

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

The game was rather easy. Add more choices to complex things up :)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Yeah, I finally died of natural causes! But seriously, this turned out pretty good. Great take on the theme, and I really like the graphics you added. Good work!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I died of natural causes at 109.
The idea is decent, I had hoped for small mini games for each action though, essentially this was just button clicking and managing the numbers. Apart from all that I liked the idea of simulating life like that, but a bit more gameplay would've been nice! :-)

ryann says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:35am

I died of natural causes at 105 years old. Good work finishing but it just needs more options to start to be interesting.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:24pm

This game is jam-packed with bias! I lived to a ripe old age of 105 by alternating between "good YOLO" and "work". The question is: who decides what YOLO is good, and what YOLO is bad? For example, I think a lot of positive societal good came from some of the YOLO in the 1960, which your game would probably have considered "bad YOLO" (just based on the wealth differential). Game would be more mechanically interesting if it took a more neutral stance, and offered more shades of grey.

Long live cow-clicker!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:18am

^ what he said

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I committed suicide at age 50. I really don't know what that says about me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]