December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Abandon Ship

by TnT - Jam Entry

**If the game lags, make the window smaller. We are aware that the graphics can be a bit taxing for some computers, but the game is more efficient and will run much faster in a smaller window. We are working on even more optimization now to make it faster.
**Web (Applet) port posted, since its resolution is smaller, it should run a bit better.
**We fixed the game crash on mine detonation

This requires java 6 or above. (Which should mean if you can run Minecraft, you can run this)

After a crippling alien attack on your ship, all power is lost. You have only 1 flashlight and you need to get to the one escape pod, but first you must prevent the critical component of your ship from falling into enemy hands by finding the 4 Auto-destruct codes and initiating the sequence, while avoiding or killing enemy boarding parties.
Press H for more detailed info.

You begin the game directly to the left of a "letter". Walk over it and then press E, it will better explain the game story.

Every good game has a good cheat ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#295Mood(Jam)2.83
#321Humor(Jam)2.14
#360Theme(Jam)2.48
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#421Graphics(Jam)2.63
#467Audio(Jam)1.48

Comments

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14am

This game seems pretty interesting, lagged like hell on my PC though, was barely playable.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

Didn't run on my computer. Win 7 x64

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

Yeah, couldnt get it to load on my PC. Just shows a blank screen. Windows 7 as well.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

Worked on my computer (except the pressing-Q to make the flashlight point where you were walking didn't work and just made the screen pan upwards). Pretty cool though.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

I don't know if this may be the case, but make sure you have the most recent version of Java. It ran on my PC fine and I use Linux (despite the game being marked for windows, heh heh).

Pretty interesting concept. The flashlight seemed a little finicky, though. And so many aliens. XD

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:32am

World was too big. Hard to get around. Seems you can burn though items pretty quick. Took a while to figure out what I should do.

TnT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

Thanks for the feedback guys. On our computers it has run fine, but given that all of our computers are very similar that is to be expected I suppose. We are working on trying it out on every computer we can get our hands on and optimizing the graphics further. We will update it as soon as we get things worked out. The only bug we have been able to find happens somewhere in the level gen code and will fix itself on a second run almost always, so if you get nothing or a black screen that could be the issue. The Q not working comes from a missing break in a switch statement, we are fixing that too. Hooray for typos...

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

No lag here. The world was a bit too big, the death message really encourage you to start over, the many objectives are a good points.
But maybe you should have packed them on a smaller level.
The fact that the level scroll only when you're next to a side really increase the hugeness feeling of the starship. Most of the screen is filled with place you already visited.

I love the surprise when you reach a border ans discover the nice starfield.

timothyolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

Blank screen as well, running Ubuntu Linux, Sun Java 6 and OpenJDK 7

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45am

Nice concept and gameplay. I feel the flashlight control is way too floaty, and the background blocks can easily confused with barter blocks.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

Nice use of controls.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

Really like the use of a flashlight to navigate around. Way too many games use flashlights that aren't needed at all to move around.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05am

A pretty interesting game. It didn't lag at all for me. Shooting was a bit annoying because I kept dragging the screen to do so. Graphics were pretty lacking, unfortunately. It really could have used some audio, as well. Even so, it was quite fun. Congratz on finishing!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:12am

I ran fine for me as well, but I did happen to install the latest version of java about 10 minutes for unrelated reasons. I really like the mechanics, but the game starts out real difficult. I kind of wish there an easy level or intro level to let you get the hang of things before it gets so hard.

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

It was a little disorienting at first, but as the magnitude of it unfolded I became pretty intrigued. The first ship I was on, I didn't meet any enemies for the first 5 minutes! The second time I played there were 3 aliens in the first room. =P Managed to blow up the ship once, but I left a lot un-done!

If you have a mine in your hands, is it possible to use other items without also accidentally placing the mine? I might've just been doing that wrong. =T

It ran nice and smooth on my computer (and in an Applet! Takes me back to The Days...) and certainly stands out as one of the more ambitious/sprawling entries I've played so far.

(Protip: deciding you're too cool for reading instructions and playing the first time through without knowing how to turn on the flashlight is, um, "elite" mode. >_> ;)

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51am

i really like exploration puzzles. the art was also quite pleasant. Not really sure it really fits the theme. I got 91fps and died on an alien because I was using a trackpad.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14am

That was fun, though I couldn't destroy the memory banks as it would freeze up on my computer when the mine exploded, but managed to do everything else. I set the timer to 80 seconds, plenty of time right? Pressed E on the escape pod with 1 second left.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17am

Kind of confusing to start off, but good!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:26am

Liked a lot this game. With the right amount of time and polish, you could have a great game with lots of appeal. Music and sounds would have been great :(

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice game ! Great idea

Brian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Run well for me, nice idea !

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Crashed because of an unsupported class exception. I guess that means my java isn't updated but I'm a java programmer too so I'm not sure. If you could tell me what's wrong, I'll try to play it later.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

It's an interesting idea, but there wasn't enough explanation of what the player was supposed to do and how to do it, and navigating a mostly dark world, while atmospheric, did get a little frustrating.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Wasnt sure what to do, and this game wouldnt record with fraps sadly, so I couldnt include it in my LD 28 compilation video series.

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:27pm

It labyrinths were really much too unforgiving. I got to save a handful of the crew and started some destruction sequences, but I think the complexity of the mazes took away attention from what I was supposed to do. And so I mostly focused on going to new places and pressing E every now and then.

Nut says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:28am

Tried to play the web version but got an error message :\

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]