December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Wing

by theholychicken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about the unfairness of the world. Or just something short and cute.

You are an angel with only one wing.
In the end... do you have a choice, or don't you?

.....................................

I really hope you like this short and cute little game!
My heart melts while playing it myself :3

I actually made this in the last 10 hours of Ludum Dare. (I only started 8am this morning. It's now 6:54pm!)
That was part of the reason I simplified it to what it is, but now I am SO glad that I did.
Anything more complicated would have ruined it!

:theholychicken

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#24Theme4.03
#146Mood3.39
#170Humor3.16
#323Graphics3.26
#436Overall3.08
#455Innovation2.97
#692Audio1.94
#706Fun2.55

Comments

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Hah! Really nice idea! I gave it 5-stars for Theme. I did get both endings -- I wish the first ending actually said something though, I stared at the black screen for a bit before figuring it out :-).


Nice and simple. Given more time, I wonder if you could add more obstacles..? Pits to "jump" over, etc. Either way, nice job :-).

Please review mine, if you have the time.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03am

Very nice game :)
Graphics are simple and clean! Niiice!

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

Funny

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

ha! great!

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

This is quite funny, I spent a good few seconds not flying :D

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

Cute <3 At least one wing is better than no wings!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10am

Aww man, real cute game.
Angels are fun..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05am

aww, i loved doing the back-flips. nice work!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Loved it!

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11am

That was a brilliant use of the theme, very thoughtful. First time I though there was no point trying to fly over the black angel so just walked into him -> black. Next time I actually tried to jump him, and did it. Is that a metaphor for something?

davisan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Too bad you had little time, but the game was well designed. The take on the theme was very good, It's very cute and I loved the surprise that he can not fly.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nicely done. The graphics remind me of Zero Punctuation ^^

Ace says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:55am

This is a very nice game actually, especially for only having 10 hours of work on it. Though I really don't think an installer is the right way to go for a Ludum Dare game, just a heads up.

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Good mood, nice and short, cute graphics.
I especially like your take on the theme.
Not bad for 10 hours

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Oh, but what I don't like is having to install a game for the Ludum Dare. I play 50-100 games. i don't like clogging up my computer.

miwuc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:48pm

This looks so cute and original, it's one of those games I really wish I could play, but I don't have any windows machine :(

stenol says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice idea !

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cute and stylized art. Well done given the timeframe.

Espyo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Super short, but so so lovely. I love how you get the alternate ending. It's so obvious, and it's a thing most people'll get right away (not like there's much you can do in the game other than backflipping and walking right), but it still makes sense and is well done.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Love all your comments! I really hope everyone makes it to both endings :)


@ashen- Yeah, there are so many metaphors to be gotten from this, I'm still finding new ones four days after I finished it.

But what resonates most strongly for me is about not being afraid of your own despair. We all enter despair willingly, and consciously, even when it seems like there is no choice. Instead we should use what we have and find a way.

We all have something good about us. Sometimes we fail and we believe we are no good at all. We even forget about the one wing we have, and we live as though we have no wing at all...

You only get one wing. The other one you have to earn it yourself. <3

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Fun little story.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:52pm

spectacular offering

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:06pm

black screen when hitting the black angel looks more like a bug / game hang up.

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:30am

This was really so freaking cute!
Nice little game. :)

Moosefly says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:58am

Nice and simple game (or maybe an interactive story?). Even got both endings since it was so short.

Good job managing to make something in 10 hours! Didn't really like the installer though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]