December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Duck

by Stratovarius - Jam Entry

Controls:
-Arrow keys to move
-Z to select and send your duck to attack other ducks in front of you
-R to fix it if something breaks

Choose one duck to kill all the other ducks
Each duck has two mutations that can be either negative or positive, these mutations are not listed, you must learn what they are by their look to determine which ducks are strong and which are weak


Game is a bit rushed so there's a few bugs and general ugliness

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Humor(Jam)3.05
#184Innovation(Jam)3.10
#286Theme(Jam)2.70
#355Fun(Jam)2.64
#423Mood(Jam)2.42
#430Overall(Jam)2.68
#456Graphics(Jam)2.45
#463Audio(Jam)1.60
#965Coolness49%

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

Do you have a web version?

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17am

Dont know if it is important for gameplay but after selection, the duck hunt and body are switched.

If you send your duck to fight too far from another duck it will go to left aimlessly. I had hard time understanding how to play because of this ( first 3-4 games )

I love the idea of gaining more knowledge about how duck work. The idea is good. But in the end I just ended looking for *spoiler alert* the messed up beak ones who can inflict more damages. Didn't have the feeling that turtle body really influence damage taken or wings increase dodge chance.

Some sfx would have been nice, especially for this type of fighting.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21am

The concept is funny, but only being able to select a duck and then watch what happens didn't feel engaging.

cobhc6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I really really like how the guy looks!

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I absolutely love it! :D

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice game! Still pretty good for a rushed game. I like the mutated undead alien ducks and how the duck trainer's facial expression is full of joy and exitement!

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

It's creepy, a lot! But it's funny :)

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Great visuals and like the Pokeducks idea, execution was a little unclear in the end, but a great start.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

one duck... one love...

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Felt like you should have been able to do more than just watch your ducks hit each other.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

It's really creepy... Leaving aside the morality of killing ducks with your own zombie duck, it's fun :-D

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Hey.. What...
GREAT GAME! XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]