December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Jumper

by DJLad97 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Forgot to add:
W - Jump.
You only get one jump, you have to hit the boosts.

Well after scraping my first idea after the first day, I made this in about 15 hours, so it's not as polished as you would expect after 2 days. I finished this at 1:30am (while hungry and tired), so I haven't really tested it. (Be cool if you could report me any bugs :) ) This didn't go as well as my first one back in the summer, but I got something completed and is out there and that's want I always want to achieve. Not expecting to people enjoy as much as my last entry, but oh well. (Excuse my grammar and construction of sentence - I'm really tired and starving)

XNA Required:

My speech as I put it for LD27

You will need to download XNA and the .NET framework.
Before you say: "What?! A download!" You might as well download it because you might need to install it in the future anyway as many games use xna in this compo and outside it as well. (DLC Quest, Super Meat boy (I think), Dead Pixels, Capsized and Terraria. It's very popular with indie game devs.

.NET 4 (You might have it or not):
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
Xna:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

My Timelapse:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQbHN-9ePqA&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#349Fun3.08
#554Audio2.39
#575Humor2.06
#689Theme2.54
#695Graphics2.54
#841Mood2.21
#846Overall2.54
#864Innovation2.25

Comments

Brunodev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I really liked it! The controls are smooth and graphics are nice. Got 1278 before I hit an UFO!

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it :). Just wish I had more time to polish things out.

ocmu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Bouncy bounce. Fun game.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

Not bad for 15h, but you die too easily if tehere's no powerup spawning below you.

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Yeah, I had a go at changing the spawning rate to 100ms and that seems to work better :)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really like the art style for this game. Plays like some older arcade games, but has a fresher set of paint. Good stuff!

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Thanks, art is my weakest point. I had plans on animating them but didn't have time

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very nice for 15 hours! Graphics aren't that bad either. Simple, but fun

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Its not starting. Don't get an error message either...

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The link is broken :( I will try later again.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Great little idea. I'm glad you still pulled through despite scrapping your first idea. Good to see people trying their best. I'm sure we'll all do better next time, but good effort this time :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I cant download your game or the source D: Dropbox is sayin there is a problem ): hope this is fixed soon

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Pretty fun and has some potential.

creative630 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I like this quite a bit, quite charming and the jump felt great :)

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Thanks, Adam. I wasn't a big fan of this theme; took me quite some time to get my first idea.

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Sorry for the guys who can't download it, other people can seem to download so I'm not sure whats up :(

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17pm

it's fun :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Harsh difficulty, but nicely implemented.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I liked the gameplay concept, though it didn't feel quite balanced enough because sometimes it's impossible to jump higher because of missing platforms.

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Great idea! Simple but fun!

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Gameplay was fun enough, pretty much a basic "infinite jumper" game. Graphics and sound are fine. Would have been nice to see more variety, and it seems like you usually die from just bad luck. Still, it's pretty impressive for only 15 hours.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice game!
The booster spawn behaviour is quite challenging :)
Good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]